LibGuides: Databases &amp; Resources by Subject: Resources by type

Biographies

Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive collection of scholarship to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source
Gale's Literary Index provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
E-reference books, biographies on musicians, scientist, contemporary black biography, sport management, business plans and more.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and reliable online literature database. Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revisions, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism and other Gale sources.

Career and Test Preparation

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
LearningExpress Library and PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
Resources and practice tests to improve core academic skills, score higher on college placement tests, explore careers, prepare for occupational exams or build workplace skills.

Country Information

CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
CIAO is the world's largest full-text online resource for political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, and country analysis.

CLICK BELOW FOR COUNTRY PROFILES:

Current Events

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection cover events at the local, regional, national and international level. This source includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Also includes news articles from 1970-1991, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives. (Primary source)
CQ Researcher & Archives This link opens in a new window
Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Instant access to 6000+ newspapers and magazines from 120+ countries in 60+ languages. These are usually daily papers; no archives.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Covers local, regional, national and worldwide news from 1980 - current, New York Times Magazine (1997-current), and New York Times Book Review (1997-current).
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current) from ProQuest.

eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include literary criticism, American history and culture, geography and world cultures, military history, popular culture, race and ethnicity, religion, science, security studies, the arts, women's studies, and world history.
Credo This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Duke University Press This link opens in a new window
Scholarly e-books and journals from Duke University Press. E-books published between 2008 and 2023 are available and 70 journal titles.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Digital images of books printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Nearly 25,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
E-reference books, biographies on musicians, scientist, contemporary black biography, sport management, business plans and more.
Home Grown ebooks collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 3,400 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments on exclusive O'Reilly-produced content from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders.
Open Library This link opens in a new window
A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. Titles cover a wide range of humanities, social science, performing arts, and general reference subjects.
Hoopla This link opens in a new window
Downloadable popular ebooks and e-audiobooks, including fiction, NY Times bestsellers, mystery, romance, and more. You must have an Alamance County Public Library card to create an account.

eJournal Collections

Cambridge Core
Published by Cambridge University Press. Contains over 1.6 million journal articles in science, social science, humanities, and law.
Oxford Academic Journals
Published by Oxford University Press. Collection includes over 450 journals in the humanities, social sciences, law, science, and medicine, many published in partnership with learned and professional societies.
Sage Journals
Contains more than 1,000 journals, from a wide range of disciplines including business, communications, science, and social science.

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer reviewed physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social science and humanities journals.

SpringerLink
Comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological and medical journals, books and reference works.
Taylor & Francis journals
Over 2,700 journals, including Social Science and Humanities journals published by Routledge; Science, Technology and Medicine content from Taylor & Francis; and CogentOA, a suite of broad-spectrum open access journals.
Wiley Online Library
Over 1600 journals covering the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities, and include many titles ranked at the forefront of their field.

Genealogy

African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
African-American newspapers from the 19th century. Go to Collections to search for African-American newspapers
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the world's scholarly literature in the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography This link opens in a new window
Collection of autobiographies of former slaves in the United States.
Ancestry Library This link opens in a new window
Contains coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. A collection of more than 4,000 databases and 1.5 billion names including U.S. federal census images and indexes from 1790 to 1940 and more
Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historic Newspapers from around the country, 1789-1963
HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes city directories, 1850 and 1860 Slave Schedules, U.S. Indian Census Rolls, Agricultural and Industrial Rolls and more
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present.
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Obituaries. Photos. Access 575+ million pages. Articles. From the 1700's to 2000's. Great for history and genealogy research.

Government

CQ Press Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
Primary sources covering the most significant political events of the year. 1972-2009.
Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Full range of legislative and public policy resources. Includes the Congressional Serial Set. 1789 - present.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military, trade publications, and news weeklies.
U.S. Serial Set This link opens in a new window
A collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. Includes Congressional Hearings. Coverage 1789-present.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 This link opens in a new window
Records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, primary source for the study American history and the U.S. judicial system.

Images

Artstor This link opens in a new window
More than 2.5 million images related to art, art history, architecture, painting, photography, and visual and material culture.

ARTstor: Images for Academic Publishing
Publication-quality images available free-of-charge for use in scholarly publications.
Flickr Commons
Wikimedia Commons

Legal

JSTOR (select Law)
Archival scholarly journals and books in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, humanities and social sciences. Some current issues are available now.

Foreign Law Guide Law Library This link opens in a new window
Essential information on primary and secondary sources of foreign law.
Hein Online Law Library This link opens in a new window
Law review journals including the United Nations Law Collection and United States Code.
LegalTrac Law Library This link opens in a new window
Cumulative indexing of legal publications with coverage beginning in 1980.
Making of Modern Law This link opens in a new window
Legal Treatises 1800-1926, digital images on 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Newspapers & News

Drudge Report - web's most famous gossiper; great links for news and opinions
McSweeney's Internet Tendency - bizarre notions and sharp writing
The Onion - satirical writing at its best (or worst)
Salon Magazine - different slant on current events
The Smoking Gun - documents obtained from government and law enforcement agencies
The Drudge Retort - not the Drudge Report; alternative news

Access World News

This comprehensive news collection cover events at the local, regional, national and international level. This source includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Also includes news articles from 1970-1991, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives. (Primary source)

The Atlantic

Digital access provided to current Elon students and employees. Includes unlimited access to TheAtlantic.com and the digital library with audio articles, special issues, and more.

Canadian Newsstream

Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.

Financial Times

FT content is produced each day by over 500 journalists reporting from the world's political and commercial nerve centers. It provides an authoritative and impartial picture of international trade, finance, the economy and politics

Florida Digital Newspaper Library

Materials in the collection date back to the early 19th century and culminate with current event

International Newsstream

Provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and much more

MasterFile Premier

A database of full-text magazines, journals, and reference books, as well as photo, map, and flag files dating back to 1917. Titles include popular magazines like Consumer Reports, Car and Driver, Country Living, Elle, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Harper’s Bazaar, and Popular Mechanics alongside an expansive list of scholarly and trade publications.

NewsBank Ethnic Newspapers

Covers 97 US ethnic newspapers. Various date ranges

Newseum

Front pages of today 's newspapers only. No back files.

Newspaper Source Plus

National and International newspaper coverage, television and radio transcripts.

Newswires

The Associated Press Newswire (formerly AP NewsMonitor collection) is a full-text database that contains harvested news from the Associated Press.

New York Times (Elon faculty, staff and students can sign up for free access)

Covers local, regional, national and worldwide news from 1980 - current, New York Times Magazine (1997-current), and New York Times Book Review (1997-current).

North Carolina Periodicals Index

The index provides access to articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics, including the arts, business, culture, history, law, natural resources, public policy, tourism, and travel.

PressReader

Instant access to 6000+ newspapers and magazines from 120+ countries in 60+ languages. These are usually daily papers; no archives.

Regional Business News

Covers business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

U.S. Newsstream

News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines. Includes CBS News 60 Minutes transcripts and video from 1997-2014.

University Wire

Collection of college newspapers from across the U.S. The content focuses on campus news. Over 350 newspapers are included, with over 150 updated on a daily basis.

Wall Street Journal

Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).

The Washington Post (Elon faculty, staff and students can sign up for free access)

19th Century US Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Access to 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century.
AAASS Newsnet Archive & CDPSP Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents of the Russian and Soviet press and the Current Digest of the Russian Press from 1949 to present. Site also includes historical Mexican, Chinese, and Middle Eastern/North African newspapers.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture, including Civil War materials and early African American newspapers.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection cover events at the local, regional, national and international level. This source includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Also includes news articles from 1970-1991, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives. (Primary source)
African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
African-American newspapers from the 19th century. Go to Collections to search for African-American newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
American newspapers published across three centuries. Includes thousands of titles from all 50 states. Historic newspapers 1690- recent past.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection of historical documents that include: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984; Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama and more.
Mountain People: Life and culture in Appalachia; America in Protest: Record of Anti-Vietnam War organizations, We Were Prepared for the possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961, American Relocation Camp Newspapers, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons, 1936-1945, Jewish Underground Resistance, Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress, Holocaust and Record of Concentration Camp Trials, Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis, Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis and more...
The Black Panther: Newspaper of the Black Panther Party This link opens in a new window
Twenty issues of the Black Panther Party newspaper from between 1968-1973.
Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historic Newspapers from around the country, 1789-1963
Elon University Student Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Includes the Elon Edge, The Campus Crier, Veritas Liberated Press, The Pendulum, Dimensions Today, Broadside Today, Maroon and Gold, and the Elon College Weekly from 1910-2012
Financial Times Historical Archives This link opens in a new window
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010 delivers the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through 2010. Includes advertising and marketing list.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search Gale newspaper archives in one single interface, includes 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Financial Times Historical Archive, and the
Times Digital Archive
Historical African American Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
Links to hundreds of newspapers that have been digitized, collected by our colleagues at Marist College.
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Obituaries. Photos. Access 575+ million pages. Articles. From the 1700's to 2000's. Great for history and genealogy research.
North Carolina Newspaper Locator This link opens in a new window
This database contains newspaper microfilm housed at the Government & Heritage Library.
It is not a complete list of all newspapers published in North Carolina. Can search by county, town and newspaper title.
North Carolina Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
The index provides access to articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics, including the arts, business, culture, history, law, natural resources, public policy, tourism, and travel.
The Times Digital Archive (London) This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012. (Primary Source)

These are Primary Source Newspapers, and are usually found on microfilm inside Belk Library.

Alamance Gleaner (Graham, Alamance County, NC) 1875 - 1947
American Weekly Mercury (Philadelphia, PA) 1719-1746
Anglo-Saxon (Rockingham, NC) 1900 - 1903
Aurora General Advertiser (Philadelphia, PA) 1794
Baltimore Patriot (Baltimore, MD) (Includes Evening Advertiser and Mercantile Advertiser) 1812-1830
Battleboro Advance (Battleboro, NC) (microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1871 - 1873
Battleboro Progress (Battleboro, NC) (microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1880
Berea Gazette (Berea, NC) (microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1877-1878
Boston Chronicle (Boston, MA) Includes Massachusetts Spy (1770-1772) and Censor (1771-1772) 1767 - 1770
Boston Evening Post (Boston, MA); Includes Boston Post-Boy (1735-1775); 1735 - 1775
Boston Gazette (Boston, MA) 1719-1798
Boston News-Letter (Boston, MA) 1704-1776
Boston Patriot (Boston, MA) 1809-1820
Brevard Hustler (Brevard, Transylvania County, NC) (film is labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1896
Burlington Daily Times News (Burlington, NC) 1923-1970
Burlington Journal (Burlington, NC) 1923
Carolina Federal Republican (New Bern, NC) 1809-1813
Chicago Defender (Chicago, IL) 1909-1929
Christian Sun (Elon College, NC) 1844 - 1965
Columbian Centinel (Boston, MA) 1790-1820
Connecticut Courant (Hartford, CT) 1764-1837
Connecticut Gazette (New London, CT) 1763-1820
Daily National Intelligencer (Washington, DC) 1813-1820
Daily Times News 1971 - 1988
Eagle (Maysville, KY) (microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles") 1818-1819
Eastern Argus (Portland, ME) 1803-1832
Enquirer (Richmond, VA) 1804-1820
Federal Republican (Georgetown, DC) 1812-1816
Globe (Richmond, KY) 1809-1810
Hillsborough Recorder (Hillsborough, NC) (microfilm reel includes Durham Recorder) 1820 - 1878
Kentucky Journal (Frankfort, KY) (microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles")1795
Massachusetts Spy (Worchester, MA) 1775-1820
Mountain Voice (Bakersville, NC) (microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1880
Nation (Buffalo Springs, NC) (microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1858
National Intelligencer (Washington, DC) 1800-1812
New England Courant (Boston, MA) 1721-1727 Includes Weekly Rehearsal (1731-1735)
New Hampshire Gazette (Portsmouth, NH) Includes Freeman's Journal (1776-1778) 1756-1831
Newport Mercury (Newport, RI) 1758-1842
News & Observer (Raliegh, NC 1987 - 2010
New York Gazette and Weekly Mercury (New York, NY) 1768-1783
New York Gazette or Weekly Post Boy (New York, NY) 1747-1750; 1757-1758; 1767-1768
New York Gazette revived in the Weekly Post Boy (New York, NY) 1751-1752
New York Herald (New York, NY) 1802-1817
New York Journal or General Advertiser (New York, NY) 1766-1772
New York Mercury (New York, NY) 1752-1768
North Carolina Gazette (New Bern, NC) 1751 - 1778
North Carolina Gazette, or Impartial Intelligencer, and Weekly General Advertiser 1783-1798
North Carolina National (Company Shops, NC) (microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1882
Our Home (Beaver Dam, NC) (microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1893
People's Friend (Danville, KY) (microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles") 1818-1819
People's Press (Salem, NC) 1852-1882
Political Theatre (Lancaster, KY) (microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles") 1808-1810
Porcupine's Gazette (Philadelphia, PA) 1797 - 1800
Republican Auxiliary (Washington, KY) (microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles") 1806-1810
Richmond Enquirer (Richmond, VA) 1821 - 1834
Rivington's New York Gazetteer (New York, NY) 1773-1775
Rivington's New York Gazette (New York, NY) 1777-1783
Rivington's New York Loyal Gazette (New York, NY) 1777
Roan Mountain Republican (Bakersville, NC) (microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1876 - 1879
Royal Gazette (New York, NY) 1777-1783
Salem Gazette (Salem, MA) 1790-1833
Salem Mercury (Salem, MA) 1786-1789
South Carolina Gazette 1732 - 1782
Southern Voice (Bethel, Pitt County, NC) (microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1890
Telegraph (Georgetown, KY) (microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles") 1811-1813
Times News 1989 - current
Transylvania Hustler (Brevard, Transylvania, County, NC)(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1893
Union (Washington, KY) (microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles") 1814-1820
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, VA) 1736 - 1781
Weekly Messenger (Russellville, KY)(microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles") 1814-1821
Western North Carolina Democrat (Bakersville, NC) (microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers") 1888

Access World News
This database has electronic editions of record for national and international newspapers. All articles are full-text. Choose Access International News to search.
ACN Cuban News Agency
Cuban News Agency has nearly four decades of experience in Cuba and 14 years taking to the world the news about Cuba.
Al Jazeera Rohingya News
The Arab American News
more...less...
Founded in 1984, the weekly English/Arabic bilingual newspaper representing Arab American is published in Dearborn, Michigan.
BBC News
Gives you a different, non-US perspective on the news and has much better international coverage than US sites.
Channel News Asia
English language Asian news network that reports on global developments with Asian perspectives.
China Daily
China Daily is an English-language daily newspaper owned by the Publicity Department of the Chinese Communist Party.
Cuba section of El Nuevo Herald Newspaper
Daily newspaper in Spanish from southeast Florida.
Euronews
Covers world news from a pan-European perspective
Foreign Newspapers Online
This website compiles all of the newspapers in the world that have their own websites. Just find your country or region and click on a title.
Israel National News
Onlinenewspapers.com
A list of French newspapers from all over France. Some are in English.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
Instant access to 6000+ newspapers and magazines from 120+ countries in 60+ languages. These are usually daily papers; no archives.

UN News Center
News about all parts of the world, including "in focus" reports on regions of particular concern.
World Newspapers Online
Another website that compiles online newspapers from around the world. Each title has a few lines of description.
World Newspapers and Magazines
Links to world newspapers, magazines, and news sites in English.

NewsBank News Transcripts This link opens in a new window
Broadcast Transcripts from CBS, ABC, NBC, CNN and Fox News among others. Transcripts of 48 Hours and 60 Minutes. Covers 452 sources of news transcripts
NewsBank Newswires This link opens in a new window
Newswires from the Associated Press, Sports Network and more.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
National and International newspaper coverage, television and radio transcripts.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
The Associated Press Newswire (formerly AP NewsMonitor collection) is a full-text database that contains harvested news from the Associated Press.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines. Includes CBS News 60 Minutes transcripts and video from 1997-2014.

University Wire
Collection of college newspapers from across the U.S. The content focuses on campus news. Over 350 newspapers are included, with over 150 updated on a daily basis.

National Newspapers Online

Local Newspapers Online

Burlington Times-News
Charlotte Observer
Greensboro News & Record
Raleigh News and Observer
The Pendulum -- Elon's weekly student newspaper
The Chronicle Winston Salem
Winston Salem Journal

Online News

BBC News -News from around the world reported by the BBC
CNN Interactive - current news stories reported by CNN
C-SPAN - provides public access to the political process
C-SPAN's CapitalNews - the latest updates from Capitol Hill, the White House and National Politics
Fox News - the leading US conservative news network
History News Service - an informal syndicate of professional historians who seek to improve the public's understanding of current events by setting these events in their historical contexts
National Public Radio - international and national news
NewsLibrary.com - old newspapers articles
NewsLinks - provides access to home pages of magazines, newspapers, and radio and televison stations
NewsWatch - consumer's guide to news; nonpartisan analysis of the media
Public Agenda Online - nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education
Radio Stations on the Internet - links to over 800 stations worldwide; many stations broadcast over the internet
Stratfor.com - this private intelligence company presents news and commentary on political, social, military, and economic trends worldwide
Total News - create your own "personal edition" news; links to major news sources, plus a search engine
U-Wire - a daily college media newswire produced by students, includes contributions from student publications.also contains CopyBoy, an online story archive

Online News Directory

ALLThingsDigital - devoted to news, analysis, and opinion on technology, the Internet, and media
All the World's Newspapers - links to 3,400 world newspapers online
ARL Directory of Scholarly Electronic Journals and Academic Discussion Lists
New Jour - directory of electronic journals and newsletters
NewsDirectory - a guide to English-language media online; magazines and newspapers
Newser - the most important stories from hundreds of US and international sources and reduce them to a headline, picture, and two paragraphs.
Newsrack - News from a US perspective and International perspective, and opinions
Scholarly Journals Distributed Via the Web - directory of established scholarly e-journals
The World News Network - World news by subject area

Print Newspapers

These newspapers are available on the first floor of Belk library.

Alamance News (Graham, NC)
Barrons
Carolina Peacemaker (Greensboro, NC)
Education Week
Independent Weekly (Durham, NC)
New York Times
News and Observer (Raleigh, NC)
News and Record (Greensboro, NC)
Pendulum (Elon University)
Times New (Burlington, NC) (No longer printed on Mondays)
USA Today
Wall Street Journal

News and Observer 1926-1992

News & Observer Index

The N&O Index is an alphabetical list of names and subjects, with references to the newspaper articles in which they occur.

It is not a database of articles; rather, it is a guide to help find articles with more information about a particular topic.
Indexes that date from 1978-1981 were published in book form and electronically. Over the next year, we hope to include those entries in the N&O Index, 1926-1992, as well.

Popular Magazines

The library subscribes to dozens of magazines in print. You can find them on the first floor, on the shelves near the elevator. For access to magazines online, try the following links:

PressReader This link opens in a new window
Instant access to 6000+ newspapers and magazines from 120+ countries in 60+ languages. Search magazines by topic and/or country and language.

Find Magazines using Journal Finder
We have access to MANY magazines' articles in our different databases. To see if we have access to a particular publication, type the magazine name into the search box.

Historical Magazines - find magazines from the 20th and sometimes even the 19th centuries.

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day. Covers 1892 to the present.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Collection of leading US women's magazines from the late 19th-century to the 2005. Includes: Better Homes & Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Town & Country and more.

Life Magazine
A weekly interest and light news magazine, famous for its pictures. Google Books has it digitized from 1936 to 1972. (The library also has it in print and on microfilm.)
Ebony Magazine
Monthly magazine focused on the African-American community since 1945. Google Books has 1950s-2000 digitized.
Jet Magazine
Digital archive includes all issues from 1950 to 2005 of Jet Magazine.
The Atlantic archive
Articles from this magazine covering news, politics, culture, technology, health. Articles available from 1857 until today. (Current content also available!)

Streaming Audio & Video Collections

Streaming Audio & Video Guide
The guide to help you find streaming video and audio resources that our campus subscribes to.
Belk Archives Audio and Video Collection
This collection includes access to digitized audio and video content from the Archives and Special Collections. The content includes (but is not limited to) footage and audio content of campus-wide events, cultural events, faculty and students in classrooms, oral histories, and other notable events that have been recorded and pertain to Elon University history.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Over 68,000 titles spanning a wide range of subjects: anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. AVON includes a variety of video material with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage.
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance and more.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films to colleges and universities, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution, including Bullfrog, Icarus, and First Run Features. NOTE: Films will only be available by faculty/staff request. Click here to order a Docuseek video that we don't have access to already.
Films on Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Films on Demand: Just for Kids This link opens in a new window
The Just for Kids Streaming Collection gives children—and their parents—a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform they can freely explore and enjoy. Includes educational videos, sports drills, cartoons, and classics like Sesame Street.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
For off campus access, please sign in with your Elon username and password.
Large collection of video documentaries and movies from many producers covering many subjects; pop culture, nursing, public health, lgbt issues, social sciences, sciences, political science and events, the arts, global studies, education, etc. NOTE: Kanopy has changed to mediated access and films will only be available by faculty/staff request. Click here to order Kanopy Streaming Videos that we don't have access to already.
Learning On Demand This link opens in a new window
Learning On Demand is a curated repository of educational videos produced by Elon University faculty, staff, and students.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 140,000 CDs with more than 2,300,000 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
Hoopla This link opens in a new window
Downloadable popular ebooks and e-audiobooks, including fiction, NY Times bestsellers, mystery, romance, and more. You must have an Alamance County Public Library card to create an account.

Women Film Pioneers Project This link opens in a new window
Features silent-era producers, directors, co-directors, scenario writers, scenario editors, camera operators, title writers, editors, costume designers, exhibitors