Librarian
Journals by Subject
Popular Culture magazines
Belk Library has current and historical issues of many popular culture magazines. Use the link below to see the titles, coverage dates, and format.
Magazine and Advertising (past issues and archives)
- Ad*Access
American and Canadian print ads from the years 1911 - 1955. Provided by Duke University Libraries.
- Adland
Includes print, TV, and radio ads. Most ads are from 2000 or later.
- AdRespect
A non-profit organization that rates ads on their portrayal of LGBT themes. They host a large archive of print ads and TV ads, covering the 1920s up to the present. The archive can be useful for any ad-related research, not just research into LGBT themes.
- The Advertising Archives
This collection is focused on the United Kingdom, but it also includes ads from continental Europe and North America. It covers the years 1900 to present. You can register (for free) to view the images in larger sizes.
-
Chronicling America: Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920
American print advertisements from the years 1850 - 1920. Provided by Duke University Libraries.
-
Gallery of Graphic Design: This website hosts a variety of historical advertisements. Allows you to scroll through well-digitized images of advertisements by year, advertiser, publication, product, and more. If you click on an image, the website will provide you the information necessary to create a citation.
- MagazineArt.org
An online archive of art from magazine covers and advertisements, from the 1880s through 1940s.
- Philip Morris USA Inc. Advertising Archive
This archive of tobacco advertisements was created by the tobacco company Philip Morris USA, in order to comply with a legal settlement.
- Stanford Research into the Impact of Tobacco Advertising
A well-organized collection of tobacco ads. Includes both print ads and TV ads. Provided by the Stanford School of Medicine.
- Century Past500 free magazine titles on this website, with many thousands of back issues
- Independent VoicesIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveAn archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.*
- Life Photo ArchiveSearch millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google
- The Magazine RackA downloadable collection of over 34,000 digitized magazines and other monthly publications.
- Sports Illustrated ArchivesArchive of Sports Illustrated issues since 1954
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowCollection of leading US women's magazines from the late 19th-century to the 2005. Includes: Better Homes & Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Town & Country and more.
- Popular Magazines Available on MicrofilmCome to Belk Library, 2nd floor and we can help you find these. (microfilm=old school style)
- The Ad Council
The Ad Council is a non-profit organization that produces public service announcements (PSAs). Among its successful PSA slogans are "Loose Lips Sink Ships," "Only You Can Prevent Forest Fires," and "Friends Don't Let Friends Drive Drunk."
- Adland
Includes print, TV, and radio ads. Most ads are from 2000 or later.
- AdRespect
A non-profit organization that rates ads on their portrayal of LGBT themes. They host a large archive of print ads and TV ads, covering the 1920s up to the present. The archive can be useful for any ad-related research, not just research into LGBT themes.
- AdViews
A collection of TV commercials from the 1950s - 1980s, provided by Duke University Libraries.
- Classic TV Commercials
A collection of classic TV commercials, mostly from the '50s and '60s, hosted by the Internet Archive.
- The Living Room Candidate
An archive of TV commercials from US presidential campaigns, from 1952 to the present. Provided by the Museum of the Moving Image.
- Stanford Research into the Impact of Tobacco Advertising
A well-organized collection of tobacco ads. Includes both print ads and TV ads. Provided by the Stanford School of Medicine.
- YouTube
YouTube is perhaps the best online source for commercials. Try combining your search terms with the word "commercial" or "ad" or "advert" or "advertisement."