Databases & Resources by Subject

This comprehensive news collection cover events at the local, regional, national and international level. This source includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Also includes news articles from 1970-1991, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives. (Primary source)

A collection of primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture, including Civil War materials and early African American newspapers.

The most comprehensive collection of scholarship to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content

African-American newspapers from the 19th century. Go to Collections to search for African-American newspapers

Poems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries, 1750-1900.

A versatile collection of more than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.

Indexes and abstracts the world's scholarly literature in the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.

Collection of autobiographies of former slaves in the United States.

Contains coverage of the U.S. and the U.K., including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. A collection of more than 4,000 databases and 1.5 billion names including U.S. federal census images and indexes from 1790 to 1940 and more

More than 2.5 million images related to art, art history, architecture, painting, photography, and visual and material culture.

Black Short Fiction and Folklore brings together 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present.

Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora, documenting the evolution of black feminism.

A wide range of disciplines related history and culture of the United States

Research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes city directories, 1850 and 1860 Slave Schedules, U.S. Indian Census Rolls, Agricultural and Industrial Rolls and more

Historical Abstracts covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present.

Poems by 62 of the most important and influential African-American poets of the Twentieth century.

Collection of leading US women's magazines from the 19th century to 2005. Includes Essence from the first issue in 1970 to 2005.

This comprehensive news collection cover events at the local, regional, national and international level. This source includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Also includes news articles from 1970-1991, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives. (Primary source)

CIAO is the world's largest full-text online resource for political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, and country analysis.

The world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Abstracts and index of international political science journals.

Index and selected full-text from international titles and multi-author works related to the field of religion.

More than 2.5 million images related to art, art history, architecture, painting, photography, and visual and material culture.

It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source

Historical Abstracts covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present.

Index to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, 1963-present.

Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Index and abstracts of books and journals of philosophy and related fields, 1940-present.

Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

Full range of legislative and public policy resources. Includes the Congressional Serial Set. 1789 - present.

Law review journals including the United Nations Law Collection and United States Code. 

Current full-text journal articles written by esteemed researchers from across psychology and the behavioral and social sciences.1988-present.

Index to journals in psychology and related disciplines, 1887-present.

The world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Abstracts and index on current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.

The most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. The database features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Index and abstracts of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. 1963-

This full-text collection covers all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.

CIAO is the world's largest full-text online resource for political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, and country analysis.

Select the Serial Set Maps (1789-present) search option.

Current news pertaining to all branches of the military, trade publications, and news weeklies.

The world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Abstracts and index of international political science journals.

Primary source documents of the Russian and Soviet press and the Current Digest of the Russian Press from 1949 to present. Site also includes historical Mexican, Chinese, and Middle Eastern/North African newspapers.

This comprehensive news collection cover events at the local, regional, national and international level. This source includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Also includes news articles from 1970-1991, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives. (Primary source)

CIAO is the world's largest full-text online resource for political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, and country analysis.

Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

Public opinion polls containing 350,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys in the U.S. and 80 other countries, 1986-present.

The world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Abstracts and index of international political science journals.

This comprehensive news collection cover events at the local, regional, national and international level. This source includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Also includes news articles from 1970-1991, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives. (Primary source)

Authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

Index to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, 1963-present.

The world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

This full-text collection covers all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.

Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in more than 45 scientific disciplines. This includes review articles in Biomedical/Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences and Economics.

CINAHL Plus With Full Text: Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.

Over 500 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.

Academic journals covering clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, and health administration.

Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

Current full-text journal articles written by esteemed researchers from across psychology and the behavioral and social sciences.1988-present.

Index to journals in psychology and related disciplines, 1887-present.

Over 11 million citations from Medline and additional life science journals.

PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Full text access to more than 3 million articles. from 2000 -

Scholarly peer reviewed physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social science and humanities journals.

Index and abstracts to journals in social work, psychology, sociology and political science.

CIAO is the world's largest full-text online resource for political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, and country analysis.

Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

The world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Abstracts and index on current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.

Index and abstracts of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. 1963-

The most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. The database features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

CIAO is the world's largest full-text online resource for political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, and country analysis.

Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

Citations and abstracts of educational journals, 1966-present.

Law review journals including the United Nations Law Collection and United States Code. 

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Coverage includes history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, humanities and social sciences. Some current issues are available now.

Historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. 

Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.

Index and abstracts of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. 1963-

Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.

Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General, Depository Notifications by the Secretary General, and more.

Abstracts and index of international political science journals.

Cabell’s includes systems for identifying both journal analytics and a predatory journals directory. The searchable Journalytics database includes 18 academic disciplines from more than thirteen thousand international scholarly publications. Evaluation metrics include bibliometrics, journal ranking and acceptance rate.

CMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study.

Relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

Detailed information journals currently indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

Index to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, 1963-present.

A collection of primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture, including Civil War materials and early African American newspapers.

Indexes and abstracts the world's scholarly literature in the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.

Full-text of American Anthropological Association journals.

Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

A wide range of disciplines related history and culture of the United States

Historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. 

Published letters and diaries depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Colonial times to 1950.

The world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Abstracts and index on current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.

The most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. The database features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Index and abstracts of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. 1963-

The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day. Covers 1892 to the present.

Collection of leading US women's magazines from the late 19th-century to the 2005. Includes: Better Homes & Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Town & Country and more.

Articles about women from all fields and disciplines of study.