Databases & Resources by Subject

ACS publications from 1879-present. Click on "All Subjects" to browse, or navigate to a journal and/or paper of interest via the search.

A free chemical structure database providing text and structure search for 28 million+ structures from hundreds of data sources.

A freely available resource from the National Library of Medicine. Search for compounds, substances, BioAssays, academic literature, and more.

Searches the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database, as well as other biomedical / life sciences sources.

The National Library of Medicine's PubMed Central (PMC) is a freely available collection of biomedical and life sciences journal articles. Coverage starts in the 1800s and continues to present day.

Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Scholarly journals and books from the academic publisher Elsevier. Browse by topic (for example, items tagged chemistry), or use the keyword search. Covers virtually all disciplines, from the physical and life sciences to the humanities.

Research from many scientific disciplines, searchable by keywords, substances, chemical compounds, and more. You must create an account before you can use the database. Available only to Elon students, faculty, and staff.

Indexes tens of thousands of scholarly journals across all disciplines, as well as conference proceedings, monographs, and more. Pulls data from several different databases, but is traditionally strong in the sciences. Coverage (in Science Citation Index Expanded) starts in 1900 and continues to present day. Previously known as Web of Knowledge.

ACS publications from 1879-present. Click on "All Subjects" to browse, or navigate to a journal and/or paper of interest via the search.

Review articles on a variety of topics, including biomedical/life sciences, the physical sciences, and more.

Articles, news, and commentary from the international journal, which publishes peer-reviewed papers and scientific news in all fields of science and technology.

An international outlet for scientific news, commentary, and peer-reviewed research. Published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

A reference tool for professionals, academics, and students for authoritative, regularly updated engineering information. Includes multiple resources for chemical engineering.

Journals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.

The American Mathematical Society's database, indexing mathematical research across fields and disciplines. Coverage starts in the 1800s and continues to present day.