Librarian
Best Bets
Whether you're struggling to find results or you're unsure of the best way to approach a problem, these resources are the ideal place to start for almost every health science question. These resources contain a mix of peer-reviewed journal articles, eBooks, and point-of-care tools, and all of them can help with research questions or clinical queries. When in doubt, try these out!
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowOver 11 million citations from Medline and additional life science journals.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIndexes tens of thousands of scholarly journals across all disciplines, as well as conference proceedings, monographs, and more. Pulls data from several different databases, but is traditionally strong in the sciences. Coverage (in Science Citation Index Expanded) starts in 1900 and continues to present day. Previously known as Web of Knowledge.
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new windowContinually updated medical content, textbooks, Harrison's Online content and much more.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowUpToDate® is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care.
HEALTH SCIENCES
- Anatomy TV (Primal Pictures) This link opens in a new windowInteractive pictures of the human anatomy
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowNon-journal coverage from reports, reviews, and meetings to prepare research projects, grant proposals and follow trends in the life sciences.
- CINAHLPlus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus With Full Text: Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is an independent, diverse, global organization that collaborates to produce trusted synthesized evidence, make it accessible to all, and advocate for its use. Our work is internationally recognized as the benchmark for high-quality information about the effectiveness of health care.
- Consumer Health (Formerly Family Health) This link opens in a new windowScholarly medical journals and consumer magazines covering health subjects.
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals covering clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, and health administration.
- Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new windowJournals and dissertations in the field of health administration.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowOver 500 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
- MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new windowInformation for health professionals and consumers from the National Institutes of Health, health information in English and Spanish, and clinical trials
- National Guidelines ClearinghouseEvidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
- PEDroPhysiotherapy Evidence Database is a free database of over 21,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- Sports Medicine and Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index) This link opens in a new windowContent ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, health education, physical therapy, and sport sociology/psychology.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowCurrent full-text journal articles written by esteemed researchers from across psychology and the behavioral and social sciences.1988-present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowIndex to journals in psychology and related disciplines, 1887-present.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Full text access to more than 3 million articles. from 2000 -
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new windowJournals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine.
- Science Database This link opens in a new windowApplied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowIndex of international citations on all aspects of exercise physiology, physical education, physical fitness, sports, sports industry, and sports medicine published since 1949.
- TRIPA clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
ACCESS MEDICINE
- AccessMedicineContinually updated medical content, textbooks, Harrison's online, and much more. If using off-campus, an Elon log-in box will appear when you click in.
Evidence-based Practice Resources & Clinical Guidelines
- Up-To-DateUpToDate® is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 5,100 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Supported by UpToDate's 46 in-house physician editors, these authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence.
NOTE: Funding for the National Guideline Clearinghouse was discontinued and the it is no longer available. While we do not have a perfect single alternative, some helpful options for identifying clinical guidelines include:
- P.I.C.O. ResourcesThis guide is designed to assist health care professionals and students become effective and efficient users of the medical literature. See helpful tabs for 'Levels of Evidence', PICO, 'Clinical Search Filters', and 'Searching PubMed'.
- TRIPA clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Click on 'PICO Search' to fill in the helpful PICO form.
- PEDroPhysiotherapy Evidence Database is a free database of over 21,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- Guidelines International Network (G-I-N)G-I-N is a library of clinical guidelines created and maintained by an international network of health agencies and organizations.