LibGuides: Databases & Resources by Subject: History

Best Databases for History

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the world's scholarly literature in the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Coverage includes history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, humanities and social sciences. Some current issues are available now.

Other Databases for History

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include literary criticism, American history and culture, geography and world cultures, military history, popular culture, race and ethnicity, religion, science, security studies, the arts, women's studies, and world history.
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography This link opens in a new window
Collection of autobiographies of former slaves in the United States.
CQ Press Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
Primary sources covering the most significant political events of the year. 1972-2009.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
E-reference books, biographies on musicians, scientist, contemporary black biography, sport management, business plans and more.
HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes city directories, 1850 and 1860 Slave Schedules, U.S. Indian Census Rolls, Agricultural and Industrial Rolls and more
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world.
North American Women's Letters & Diaries This link opens in a new window
Published letters and diaries depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Colonial times to 1950.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
U.S. Serial Set This link opens in a new window
A collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under directive of the Congress. Includes Congressional Hearings. Coverage 1789-present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index of arts and humanities journals. With link to full text journal articles.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection of historical documents that include: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984; Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama and more.
Mountain People: Life and culture in Appalachia; America in Protest: Record of Anti-Vietnam War organizations, We Were Prepared for the possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961, American Relocation Camp Newspapers, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons, 1936-1945, Jewish Underground Resistance, Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress, Holocaust and Record of Concentration Camp Trials, Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis, Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis and more...
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
Making of Modern Law This link opens in a new window
Legal Treatises 1800-1926, digital images on 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military, trade publications, and news weeklies.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Includes books and journals.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
This database covers topics across all government and military branches. It includes over 550 titles dating back to the early 1990's.
Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes general-interest American magazines. Covers 1892-1983. Some content will be online in other databases. Use Journal Finder to check for full text access.

Historical Newspapers

19th Century US Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Access to 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century.
AAASS Newsnet Archive & CDPSP Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents of the Russian and Soviet press and the Current Digest of the Russian Press from 1949 to present. Site also includes historical Mexican, Chinese, and Middle Eastern/North African newspapers.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture, including Civil War materials and early African American newspapers.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection cover events at the local, regional, national and international level. This source includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Also includes news articles from 1970-1991, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives. (Primary source)
African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
African-American newspapers from the 19th century. Go to Collections to search for African-American newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
American newspapers published across three centuries. Includes thousands of titles from all 50 states. Historic newspapers 1690- recent past.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.
Elon University Student Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Includes the Elon Edge, The Campus Crier, Veritas Liberated Press, The Pendulum, Dimensions Today, Broadside Today, Maroon and Gold, and the Elon College Weekly from 1910-2012
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search Gale newspaper archives in one single interface, includes 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Financial Times Historical Archive, and the
Times Digital Archive
Historical African American Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
Links to hundreds of newspapers that have been digitized, collected by our colleagues at Marist College.
North Carolina Newspapers Digital NC This link opens in a new window
This collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to the complete archives of The New York Times (1851-2014) and The Washington Post (1877-2001). (Primary Source)
The Times Digital Archive (London) This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012. (Primary Source)
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines. Includes CBS News 60 Minutes transcripts and video from 1997-2014.