General Information
This Research Guide contains links to information about the University Archives and Special Collections in Belk Library. Additionally, information about other resources (both print and electronic) that may provide insight into other archives and special collections is included. These resources may help with research papers and class assignments that require the use of primary documents.
Visit the University Archives and Special Collections website for more information.
Mission Statement
The Archives and Special Collections Department of Belk Library serves Elon University and the Elon community by the preservation and administration of manuscript collections, special collections, and institutional materials. The primary purpose of the Archives and Special Collections Department is to collect, maintain, preserve, and make available institutional materials of administrative, fiscal, legal, and historical value. In addition, the Archives and Special Collections Department serves as a repository for manuscript collections, printed materials, photographs, artifacts, and other memorabilia that relate to the history of Elon University.
Location and Hours
The Belk Library Archives and Special Collections Department strongly encourages appointments for internal and outside researchers.
Monday-Friday 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Saturday-Sunday CLOSED
We are located on the second floor of the Carol Grotnes Belk Library (Room 204). View floor plans of the library. Visitor parking is available in the Moseley parking lot adjacent to Belk Library. Campus maps and/or directions are included here.
About the University Archives and Special Collections

The Belk Library Archives and Special Collections Department is a place where the past and present unite. In the Archives and Special Collections, researchers will find various records of historical significance and value. The records and materials date back to the founding days of Elon College (1889) and continue into the present day. They also relate directly to the history of the College/University, the Town of Elon, and occasionally surrounding geographical areas. The materials found in the Archives and Special Collections not only offer a glimpse into the past, but also provide foundations and potential growth for the future.
The Archives and Special Collections exist primarily for the use by faculty, staff, and students of Elon University; however outside researchers are welcome. Serving as the official repository for the records of Elon University, the Archives preserves, collects, maintains, and makes available University records of administrative, fiscal, legal, and historical value. In addition, the Archives also collect brochures, pamphlets, booklets, articles, printed materials, and photographs that relate to alumni, faculty, staff, and students of Elon University.
The Special Collections of Belk Library collects, preserves, maintains, and makes available a variety of collections and their materials. Some of the Special Collections include: Elon Authors Collection; Hubert McLendon Civil War Collection; Johnson Signed Book Collection; Church History Collection (UCC); Joseph Wallace King Collection; Bible Collection; Jane Belk Moncure Children’s Book Collection; and Williams-Honeycutt Rare Book Collection. The Belk Library Archives and Special Collections share a common goal in upholding the historical preservation and knowledge of the unique holdings within a variety of collections.
Guides to Archival Materials
Guides to Archival Materials - Digital finding aids that provide online access to inventories within the archival and manuscript collections.
Digital Resources
Digital Resources - Digital collections pertaining to the history of Elon University and the surrounding local geographic regions.
Under the Oaks Blog
Under the Oaks - See our blog for more Archives and Special Collections news or download a copy of our informational brochure (PDF).
Featured Author |



Loading...
