Archives & Special Collections

This collection includes materials related to Elon University's 125th Anniversary including committee notes, correspondence, events, and articles.

The collection is primarily composed of meeting minutes but also includes other documents relevant to Academic Council.

The collection is primarily composed of meeting minutes but also includes other documents relevant to the curriculum committee.

This collection includes materials that relate to various local and national academic honor societies at Elon University. The materials date back to 1929, and continue to present day. The honor societies represent what currently exists at Elon, and what existed in the past (and may no longer be active on campus).

This collection includes information on Elon's honor code and academic integrity at Elon University.

The collection includes photographic, printed, and electronic materials produced by or related to the Elon University Office of Admissions and Financial Planning. The bulk of the collection is comprised of admissions brochures and packets, and also includes admissions events publications, correspondence, reports, and academic bulletins. This collection includes an original Elon College application from 1913, which was featured in a 2014 Chronical of Higher Education article ("Elon College's Application, 1913: Have You Read Any Homer?",

The collection consists of materials relating to the African and African-Americans Studies Program at Elon University.

This collection includes documents and information about Alcohol Issues at Elon. It provides awareness for dangers in underage drinking, and provides students with examples of the dangers of alcohol abuse. Also,this collection provides rules Elon has put into place to reduce the amount of alcohol related incidents on campus.

This collection includes a variety of materials documenting the history and ongoing activities of the Sigma Rho Chapter of Alpha Phi Omega at Elon University. The collection is arranged chronologically by academic year, then alphabetcially by type of material.

This collection includes a variety of materials and documents that relate to the history of athletics at Elon University.

This collection contains materials related to the band at Elon University dating from 1907 to present day.

This collection includes information and documentation about three bells that are part of the artifact collection in the Belk Library Archives and Special Collections. The three bells represented in this collection include: the Graham/North Carolina Railroad (NCRR) bell, the Old Main Administration Building bell, and the Proctor bell.

This collection contains a letter, photographs, and newspaper clippings that relate to the visit made by Bill Clinton and Al Gore to Elon College during their 1992 presidential campaign tour in North Carolina.

This is a collection of materials that relate to specific individuals associated with Elon University and the Town of Elon. The collection includes biographical information about individuals associated with Elon University and the Town, including some of the founders of the institution, faculty and staff, and alumni.

This collection includes documents and materials relating to the Elon University Board of Trustees. The types of materials included (but not limited to) are meeting minutes, agendas, committee work, correspondences, reports, financial documents, and charter/by-laws. This collection is closed to researchers.

This collection includes the special series publications of the Bulletin of Elon College. This unique publication should not to be confused with the other publication with the same title that is the undergraduate academic catalog.

This collection includes blueprints, floor plans, and drawings of campus buildings and spaces at Elon University.

This collection includes documents that provide information about buildings and spaces that have existed on Elon University's campus through the years; many structures are still standing.

This is a collection of negatives that depict various buildings and spaces on the campus of Elon University and other local geographic locations. The majority of the negatives and the content represented are from the 20th century.

This is a collection of photographs that depict various buildings and spaces on the campus of Elon University and other local geographic locations. The majority of the photographs and the content represented are from the 20th century.

This is a collection of slides that depict various buildings and spaces on the campus of Elon University and other local geographic locations. The majority of the slides and the content represented are from the 20th century.

This collection contains issues of the publication Campus Notes from 1957-1971. Campus Notes was a one page typed publication that included a schedule of events at Elon during one week. It was distributed to the entire Elon community, but primarily was geared towards students.

This collection includes documents and information about the security incident at Virginia Tech and how to stay safe on Elon’s campus. This collection is arranged alphabetically and then chronologically by type of material and/or title of document. Folders include campus safety reports, campus security events, crime statistics, dating violence participation guide, E-net news articles, emergency cell phone article, memorandum-assaults, newspaper clippings, sexual assault awareness month, and many forms of correspondence. The items in this collection offer a glimpse into the processes involved in promoting students help the department create a safe campus, as well as an informational resource to help manifest what the department is already doing to achieve this goal.

This collection contains materials relating to the Career Services and/or Career Center at Elon University.

This collection contains materials relating to the endowed Philip L. Carret Thomas Jefferson Essay Competition at Elon University. The essay competition was endowed in 1997 and was designed to have students reflect on the principles and ideals in Thomas Jefferson's life and career.

This collection contains materials relating to the Elon University Center for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning (CATL).

The collection includes correspondence, events flyers and programs, information sheets and brochures, recipes, and other publications, including issues of Perspectivas, a biannual zine.

This collection contains materials related to the classes of Elon University from 1890 to the present. The materials contain information on class reunions, homecomings, graduations, and other events.

This collection includes documents relating to commencement exercises at Elon University, beginning in 1891 and continuing to present day.

This collection includes documents relating to the Convocation ceremonies held at Elon University, beginning in 1966 and continuing to present day.

This collection is comprised of the Cultural Calendars which summarize the music, visual, theatre, and lecture events that have taken place at Elon each year.

This collection includes materials relating to James Earl Danieley, President of Elon College from 1957 to 1973. Some of the materials relate directly to his time as President, while other documents have been collected over the years to form the collection.

This collection contains items such as deeds, indentures, legal agreements, contracts, and certificates that relate in some manner to Elon University. Many of the documents included in the collection pertain to land surrounding Elon University that was purchased or donated to the institution.

This collection includes documents and information relating to the Elon Academy at Elon University.

This collection contains a mixture of original and reproduced copies of documents associated with the charter of Elon College, now Elon University.

This collection includes the folder titles included in the Belk Library Archives and Special Collections' vertical administrative files. The files have been maintained and added to for a number of years and include information about departments on campus, events, courses, organizations, and other miscellaneous subjects associated with Elon.

This collection includes the folder titles included in the Belk Library Archives and Special Collections' oversized vertical general and administrative files. The files have been maintained and added to for a number of years and include information about departments on campus, events, courses, organizations, and other miscellaneous subjects associated with Elon.

This collection includes a variety of documents that pertain to the history of Elon University, and did not fit with any other archival collection. Documents include (but are not limited to): correspondences, newspaper clippings, reports, general histories, essays, unpublished manuscripts, booklets, lists of facts, calendars, and much more.

This collection contains materials regarding the Elon Players at Elon College. The Elon Players were first known as the Playmakers of Elon College. According to The Bulletin of Elon College, the Playmakers of Elon College were a functioning student organization beginning in 1932 and lasting until 1964.

This collection includes many years of the publication/newsletter known as the Elon Reporter, The Reporter, and sometimes has the title The Bulletin of Elon College attached to it as well.

The collection is comprised of programs and other printed materials describing the annual Faculty Awards Luncheon that occurs near the end of the spring semester. The awards ceremony began in 1973 with the presentation of the first Daniels-Danieley Award for Excellence in Teaching.

This collection includes information regarding faculty at Elon such as lists of faculty, grants and fellowships, as well as faculty benefits.

This is a collection of faculty meeting minutes from January 2, 1893, to the present day. The collection is primarily composed of meeting minutes but also includes other documents discussed during faculty meetings.

This collection contains materials regarding the Faculty Women's Club at Elon College. It contains materials dating between 1947 and 1991.

The collection is comprised of materials that follow the history of the various Fellows programs, beginning in 1987 and continuing to present day.

This collection contains materials relating to fires that occurred in the following buildings at Elon College: Old Main Administration Building, Carolina Dormitory, Virginia Dormitory, the Temporary Kitchen, and the Annex of West Dormitory.

This collection includes documents relating to Founders Day celebrations and events at Elon University. The first Founders Day celebration took place on September 14, 1939 and has continued sporadically throughout Elon's history.

This collection contains letters, memos, newspaper clippings, photographs and other forms of printed materials relating to Gerald Ford's visit to Elon College on February 25, 1986.

This is a collection of glass plate negatives that depict various people, events, places, buildings, and subjects related to Elon University.

The Gospel Choir Collection includes documents about the Elon University Gospel Choir ranging from the dates of 1980 to present day.

This collection includes documents and information about a variety of fraternities and sororities that are part of the Greek Life system at Elon University. The collection includes information about each Greek organization on the local and/or national levels.

The Habitat for Humanity Chapter at Elon University Collection contains materials concerning the creation of the chapter at Elon and its existence from 1988-present.

This collection includes materials relating to William Allen Harper, President of Elon College from 1911 to 1931. These are the only known "Presidential Files" we have from Dr. Harper's administration.

This collection is comprised of articles, brochures, planning documents, and other printed materials related to homecoming celebrations at Elon through the years.

This collection includes recipes that were taught to students in the 1960s-1980s taking Home Economics classes both at Elon College and Williams High School in Burlington, North Carolina. Edith Brannock (Elon Class of 1939) was a member of the Elon College faculty and taught many of these classes (in both locations).

This collection includes materials related to the Elon Homes and Schools for Children, formerly known as the Christian Orphanage.

This collection contains materials related to the honorary degrees awarded by Elon University dating from 1891- present.

This collection includes materials and documents that relate to the Human Resources department at Elon University, from around 1982 to the present. The collection primarily contains information about Elon benefits, events and activities sponsored by Human Resources, as well as the "For your Benefit" newsletter. In addition, materials include information on appraisals and reviews, flex-time, years of service, and holidays, and pay information.

This collection includes the institutional priorities of Elon College/Elon University from 1974 to present day.

This collection includes materials relating to James Fred Young, President of Elon College from 1973 to December 1998. Some of the materials relate directly to his time as President, while other documents have been collected over the years to form the collection.

This collection includes materials relating to two grants that Elon University faculty member, Jimmie Agnew, was involved with during part of her time at Elon. The collection includes grant proposals and final reports from 1986-1988.

This collection is composed of materials documenting the history of the Kernodle Center for Service Learning and Student Engagement at Elon University.

This collection includes materials relating to Leo Michael Lambert, President of Elon College from 1999 to the present. Some of the materials relate directly to his time as President, while other documents have been collected over the years to form the collection.

This collection contains programs, flyers, brochures, correspondences, posters, and any other type of printed material that relates to lecture events that took place at Elon University.

This collection includes information, events, news articles, task force materials on the LGBTQIA community and the Gender & LGBTQIA Center on campus.

This collection contains programs, flyers, brochures, correspondences, posters, and any other type of printed material that relates to the Liberal Arts Forum at Elon University.

This collection includes documents relating to the library at Elon University. Documents in the collection include (but are not limited to): press releases, flyers, brochures, newspaper clippings, yearly plans, informational booklets, correspondences, floor plans, fact sheets, and reports.

This collection contains materials related to the literary societies that once existed at Elon College. Specifically, this collection has documents from the following literary societies: Clio, Philologian, Psiphelian, Appollo, Thalia, Dr. Samuel Johnson's, and Panvio.

This collection contains printed and visual materials that pertain to the first president of Elon College, William Samuel Long. The items in this collection are not necessarily papers that were generated by him during his tenure as president of Elon College during 1889-1894, but materials that have been collected by others over the years that relate to W.S. Long.

This collection contains materials related to the history of Elon University's Business School. It includes the establishment of the Business Administration program, Master of Business Administration program, and the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business.

This collection includes materials relating to Lyndon Baines Johnson's visit to Elon College on March 8, 1962 for the Founder's Day Convocation ceremony. It was during this ceremony that Johnson gave a speech to the Elon community.

This collection contains maps from Elon University's campus over the years; Alamance County, North Carolina; Burlington, North Carolina; and the Town of Elon in Elon, North Carolina.

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration at Elon began during the late 1970s. Over time, the program has included day- and week-long events featuring local and nationally-known speakers, peace walks, and community service events. In 2001, as part of the commemorative program activities, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Essay Contest was established to "promote awareness of Dr. King's vision for a more humane nation". The essay contest is open to all middle school students in grades 6, 7, and 8 enrolled in private, public, and charter schools in Alamance County, North Carolina. Contest winners are announced during the annual MLK Commemorative Program held in January.

This collection includes documents and information about Elon’s annual May Day celebration. This collection is arranged alphabetically and then chronologically by type of material and/or title of document. Folders include May Day pamphlets, May pole, Newspaper clippings, Play Day, Senior Dance pamphlets, and theatrical works. The items in this collection offer a glimpse into what May Day is, as well as an informational resource to help manifest the different things that happened on campus on this special day. One of the larger series in the collection (May Day pamphlets) offers past and relevant examples of how Elon attempted to inform students on the promotion May Day celebrations on Elon’s campus.

This collection includes materials relating to Emmett Leonidas Moffitt, President of Elon College from 1905 to 1911. These are the only known "Presidential Files" we have from Dr. Moffitt's administration.

This collection includes information on multicultural affairs at Elon. Materials include correspondence, handbooks, newsletters, and articles relating to multicultural affairs, the organizations and groups which preceded, and now form the Center for Race, Ethnicity and Diversity Education.

This collection contains programs, flyers, brochures, correspondences, posters, and any other type of printed material that relates to a music event that took place at Elon University.

This is a collection of negatives that depict various people, events, and subjects related to Elon University. The majority of the negatives and the content represented are from the 20th century.

This collection includes documents and information about the North Carolina Student Legislature (NCSL) and the Elon Delegation. This collection is arranged alphabetically and then chronologically by type of material and/or title of document. Folders include Elon delegation materials such as minutes, publicity, rosters, and written bills. This collection also includes IC Information from the Elon Delegation. In terms of the North Carolina Student Legislature, this collection includes, bills books, compendium, session bills, session rules, and statewide committees. The items in this collection offer a glimpse into the processes involved in promoting students to join the NCSL, as well as an informational resource to help manifest what the NCSL does. One of the larger series in the collection (the delegation written bills) offers past and relevant examples of certain bills that the Elon NCSL delegation would discuss.

This collection includes a variety of documents produced and distributed by the Office of the University Registrar at Elon University beginning in 1926 and continuing to present day.

This collection is comprised of a complete set of proofs and publications produced by the Office of University Communications between 1962 and 2011, with the bulk of publications produced between the 1990s and the early 2000s.

These are items that are included in other collections and have been separated out due to their size. he files have been maintained and added to for a number of years and include information about departments on campus, events, courses, organizations, and other miscellaneous subjects associated with Elon.

This collection includes documents related to the Phi Beta Kappa chapter at Elon University.

This collection includes information about the Elon University mascot, The Phoenix. The information contained in this collection encompasses the origins of the Phoenix mascot, the process of branding/marketing and choosing an appropriate logo, the Phoenix Sculpture, and the Phoenix Rising Plaque on campus.

This is a collection of photographs associated with Elon University and the Town of Elon. It includes photographs of founders of the institution, administrators, faculty, staff, students, student groups, and alumni.

This collection includes documents related to the Elon University faculty and staff planning week, which takes place the week prior to the beginning of the fall semester.

This collection includes postcards that depict Elon's campus, alumni, class pictures, and much more. The bulk of this collection features historic buildings and/or areas of Elon's campus and surrounding areas that have changed dramatically over time.

This partially processed collection contains papers from the Office of the President; including President Smith, Danieley, Young, and Lambert. The files contain information pertinent to the presidency and its duties.

This collection is comprised of print copies of press releases published by the Elon College/Elon University Public Information Office. These news releases include announcements of cultural events, appointments, gifts and endowments, buildings, faculty and staff news, student news, and stories about diverse aspects of life at the college.

The Collection is comprised of materials describing activities and events that have taken place within the Project Pericles program at Elon.

This collection includes general information and documents related to a variety of publications created and published by Elon University. The publications themselves are not represented in this collection, only information about them.

This collection includes materials on the residence life on Elon's campus. Collection includes events, living learning community information, correspondence, and news articles.

The collection is composed of information about various scholarships awarded to Elon students over the years.

This collection primarily includes institutional reports generated by the Teacher Education Program at Elon in order to receive accreditation from the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education. Additionally, there are reports and self-studies that were submitted to the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction for accreditation purposes. The reports in this collection begin in 1965 and continue until 2002. The collection is arranged chronologically.

This collection includes materials documenting the establishment and ongoing activities of the Elon University School of Law, located in Greensboro, North Carolina.

The Elon University Scrapbook Collection consists of various scrapbooks compiled by Elon alumni, graduating classes, organizations, and events. The majority of the scrapbooks are from the early to mid-1900’s with several dated post-1970. The majority of the scrapbooks are from individuals who recount their experiences through writing and pictures.

This is a collection of slides that depict various people, events, and subjects related to Elon University.

This collection includes materials relating to Leon Edgar Smith, President of Elon College from 1931 to 1957. Some of the materials relate directly to his time as President, while other documents have been collected over the years to form the collection.

This collection includes documents pertaining to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) and Elon University.

The collection consists of programs, correspondences, and other documents pertaining to Elon University's annual Staff Appreciation Day, which began in 1995.

This collection includes materials relating to William Wesley Staley, President of Elon College from 1894 to 1905. Some of the materials relate directly to his time as President, while other documents have been collected over the years to form the collection.

This collection includes information related to the creation and ongoing work of the Student Government Association at Elon. Materials include, but not limited to; agendas. budgets, reports, surveys, committees, bills, and meeting minutes.

This collection houses information about a committee formed to improve the standard of Elon University student life on campus. Created in the early 1960's, this collection contains minutes, agendas, and memorandums used by the committee until 1995

This is a collection of newsletters and miscellaneous publications created by students at Elon University. Additionally, this collection contains general information about the student generated publications represented.

The Student Union Board Collection includes documents starting in 1984-2016. The collection includes budget requests, constitutions, correspondence, and schedules of events. A majority of the materials included in the collection are budget requests starting in 1984 and continuing into 2000. Also included in the collection are flyers and notices informing Faculty/Staff and students of SUB sponsored events including a haunted house and video buttons in honor of the 1988 Spring Fling.

This collection includes materials relating to the Study Abroad Program at Elon University. Items represented in the collection include (but are not limited to): brochures, flyers, programs, correspondences, and other printed materials.

This collection includes materials on sustainability initiatives, education, and events at Elon University.

This collection is based around the Elon Teaching Fellows. Included in this collection are papers relating to the yearly trip the fellows take to Washington, as well as their History tours. Also included are meeting minutes, committee and task force information, as well as records of people inducted into the fellows program.

The collection contains materials related to the functions of the office know as Instructional and Campus Technologies (as of January 2014).

This collection contains programs, flyers, brochures, correspondences, posters, and any other type of printed material that relates to a theatre arts and/or dance event that took place at Elon University.

This collection is comprised of papers from the theatre arts department at Elon. It includes things such as, articles about productions, budget notes, contracts, as well as scripts from various plays and musicals spanning almost six decades from 1962-2017.

This collection includes materials and documents relating to the Town of Elon, North Carolina.

Collection contains materials from 1986-2001 pertaining to the transformation of Elon College to Elon University.

This collection includes documents relating to the Vera Richardson Truitt Center for Religious and Spiritual Life at Elon University, as well as the chapel program at Elon.

The Undergraduate Research Collection contains material starting in 1994-2017. This collection on includes program and abstract booklets, announcements, schedule of events, proposal guidelines, applications, and several forms of correspondence. A majority of the material are program and abstract booklets relating to SURF (Student Undergraduate Research Forum) from 1994-2017.

The collection consists of Elon undergraduate student theses that incorporate a variety of topics that relate to academic disciplines such as the arts and sciences, humanities, social sciences, and many other subjects that pertain to Elon University and the Town of Elon.

his collection consists of moving images/video created primarily by Elon University organization, partners, and affiliates. The materials document social, cultural, and academic events, activities, people, and traditions of Elon University. Formats include, but are not limited to; VHS, DVDs, reel to reel, U-matic, mini DV’s, DVCAM’s, external hard drives, and born-digital content.

This collection contains programs, flyers, brochures, correspondences, posters, and any other type of printed material that relates to a visual arts event that took place at Elon University.

This collection includes documents and items related to the Wellness Program at Elon University.

This collection contains documents and information relating to the Women's and Gender Studies academic program at Elon University.

This collection contains materials relating to World War I and Elon College.

This collection contains materials relating to World War II and Elon College.

This collection is comprised of documents pertaining to the beginning of and upkeep of Elon's Center for Writing Excellence. The collection spans from the Writing Center's beginning in 1988 to the modern day. Included in this collection are events surrounding the Center for Writing Excellence, various awards it has won, general correspondence, and newspaper clippings about the center.

This collection includes materials on Elon University's student run radio station, WSOE.

This is a collection of materials that were published about various colleges and schools that were related to the Christian Church, the Congregational Church, the Congregational Christian Church, or the United Church of Christ.

This is a collection of materials that relate to specific individuals associated with the Christian Church, the Congregational Church, the Congregational Christian Church, or the United Church of Christ.

This collection includes materials from denominations related to the history of Elon College and Elon University, including the Christian Church, the Congregational Christian Church, the Evangelical and Reformed Church, and the United Church of Christ. Documents include programs, addresses, articles, reports, correspondence, minutes, essays, pamphlets, bibliographies, contracts, brochures, resolutions, flyers, financial documents, maps, calendars, and newspaper clippings.

This is a collection of materials that relate to a specific Christian Church, Congregational Church, Congregational Christian Church, or United Church of Christ (UCC) church located in North Carolina.

This is a collection of materials that relate to a specific Christian Church, Congregational Church, Congregational Christian Church, or United Church of Christ (UCC) church located in various states in America.

his is a collection of materials that relate to a specific Christian Church, Congregational Church, Congregational Christian Church, or United Church of Christ (UCC) church located in Virginia.

This collection includes materials relating to the Middle Atlantic Conference of the Congregational Christian Church, which was organized in 1931.

This is a collection of negatives showing various people, events, places, and subjects related to the Belk Library Church History Special Collection (which includes information about the Christian Church, Congregational Church, Congregational Christian Church, and United Church of Christ). The majority of the negatives and the content represented are from the 19th and 20th centuries.

This is a collection of materials related to the New Jersey Christian Conference of the Christian Church. It includes files on the various churches of the conference, which encompassed congregations in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware. Documents in the collection include correspondence, newspaper clippings, church histories, proposals, directories, photographs, minutes, programs, reports, cemetery listings, copies of deeds, notes, biographies, and postcards. Many of the older documents are photocopies of the originals. Newspaper articles come from various local newspapers, as well as The Christian Palladium and The Herald of Gospel Liberty, two publications of the Christian Church.

This collection includes newsletters related to the history of the United Church of Christ (UCC) and the denominations that merged together to form the UCC. The newsletters were produced by the United Church of Christ, as well as its commissions, conferences, conventions, associations, offices, societies, ministries, affiliated colleges and universities, and member churches. This collection also includes newsletters relating to the Congregational Christian Churches and the Evangelical and Reformed Churches, as well as their commissions, conferences, conventions, associations, offices, societies, ministries, affiliated colleges and universities, and member churches.

A considerable number of document in this collection are treatises on historical, spiritual, or religious matters written by individual authors. The rest of the collection consists of minutes, reports, yearbooks, handbooks, periodicals, manuals, constitutions, and by-laws. Most of the pamphlets in the collection were published by conferences and groups related to the United Church of Christ: The Congregational Christian Church, The Evangelical and Reformed Church, and the UCC itself. The collection is very large, consisting of over 600 items.

This is a collection of photographs showing various people, events, places, and subjects related to the Belk Library Church History Special Collection (which includes information about the Christian Church, Congregational Church, Congregational Christian Church, and United Church of Christ). The majority of the photographs and the content represented are from the 19th and 20th centuries.

This is a collection of postcards showing various people, events, places, and subjects related to the Belk Library Church History Special Collection (which includes information about the Christian Church, Congregational Church, Congregational Christian Church, and United Church of Christ).

his is a collection of slides showing various people, events, places, and subjects related to the Belk Library Church History Special Collection (which includes information about the Christian Church, Congregational Church, Congregational Christian Church, and United Church of Christ).

This is a collection of materials regarding the proposed union between the Congregational Christian Churches and the Evangelical and Reformed Church, which created the United Church of Christ in 1957. Documents are from both the pro-union and anti-union perspectives. Material include newsletters, booklets, pamphlets, leaflets, correspondence, brochures, broadsides, and packets.

This is a collection of materials related to the United Church of Christ (UCC).

This collection consists mostly of ledgers for the chapel’s Sunday School classes. Thirteen ledgers range in dates from 1891 to 1941; most have information such as attendance numbers, class member lists, class officers, tithes collected, and remarks. There is also a report of attendance and tithes that appears to have been cut out of a ledger book; this collection is titled “Report from Oct 7 1951 to June 6 1952 was left cash on hand $22.04.” Other contents include an undated note book with a list of church members, addresses, and telephone numbers; a printed card titled “Member’s Application to the Southern Convention of Congregational Christian Churches, Inc., Group Insurance Plan”; and a list entitled “For Pastor’s Salary” with names of church members and amounts given.

This is a collection of materials related to the Southern Conference of the United Church of Christ.

This is a collection of documents related to or produced by the Southern Christian Convention and the agencies of the convention. Agencies of the Southern Christian Convention include its boards, churches, councils, conferences, colleges, societies, and fellowships. Some of the material is related to particular colleges, such as Elon College and Franklinton College. Documents include correspondence, minutes, studies, resolutions, budgets, agendas, reports, financial statements, brochures, newspaper clippings, legal documents, resolutions, by-laws, certificates, charter information, member lists, audits, church listings, speeches, ministerial information, biographies, and a scrapbook.

This is a collection of The Standard, the newsletter published by the Southern Synod of the Evangelical and Reformed Church

A large part of this collection is concerned with the campaign to ratify the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) in the 1970s and 1980s. The materials include not only the UCC’s efforts to support ERA ratification, but also the controversy surrounding it, and efforts to defeat it. Examples of materials produced by organizations that were against the ERA are included. In addition, the collection addresses issues of social justice and women’s equality such as abortion, child support, marriage, divorce, daycare, abuse of women, rape, and women’s status in the workplace. There are also materials relating to women’s role in the ministry. The collection consists of newsletters, church service programs, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, brochures, study aids, bibliographies, essays, poems, reports, information packets, and calendars.

This collection includes documents and material pertaining to Alamance County, North Carolina from 1876 to present day.

This diverse collection contains both papers directly from J.O. Atkinson and other papers that have been collected about him over the years. The papers in this collection pertain to many different subject areas, including the Southern Convention, Women's Conferences of the Congregational Christian Churches, missionary work, Dr. Atkinson's time at Elon College as a member of the first group of faculty, his sermons, genealogy relating to the Atkinson family, and class notes from Dr. Atkinson's time at Harvard University.

This collection primarily contains Correspondence and Printed Materials that relate to WWII, Elon College during WWII, and the Sigma Phi Beta fraternity at Elon College.

This collection includes examples of materials used or created by a production stage manager during the production of a Broadway play.

Collection consists of primarily correspondence from Mr. Iva Shafer Diehl while Dean of Women at Elon College to her husband Mr. George West Diehl who was obtaining a PhD at the University of Chicago. The letters start in June 1930 while she was living with her parents, prior to her starting employement at Elon in Septmber 1930. The correspondence ends December 15, 1931 during her second year of employment at Elon. Collection also includes Iva Diehl's resume circa 1930.

This collection relates specifically to the biography of Thad Eure, his influences, and contributions to the Democratic political party in North Carolina and the Southern United States from the 1920's to the early 1990's.

Dr. Donald P. Flick compiled the contents of this collection during his research for a book on the history of the UCC churches and institutions of the Western North Carolina Association of the Southern Conference. This book, Churches Related, was co-authored by Dr. Flick and Dr. Thomas R. Hamilton and was published in 2008.

The letters in this collection were collected and assembled by Ralph Ganis, author of Desperate measures: Jesse James and the Klan battles of Reconstruction, and Uncommon men: a secret network of Jesse James revealed. The content of the letters shed light onto family ties and family connections with Jesse James and the James Gang during the 19th century.

This collection contains materials related to the schools in Graham, North Carolina dating from 1845-1981. The majority of the dates included are the 1850s and 1870s-1880s. The schools represented in the collection are Graham College, Graham High School, Graham Institute, Graham Female Seminary, and Graham Normal College.

Typewritten manuscript of A History of the Christian Church in the South by Durward T. Stokes and William T. Scott. The book was published in 1975 by the Southern Conference of the United Church of Christ. Although Dr. Scott was commissioned to write the book, due to poor health he asked Dr. Stokes to co-author the book with him. Dr. Stokes completed the work on the book after Dr. Scott’s death in 1972.

The Robert Holyfield collection provides useful materials and resources relating to Elon College and World War II. The majority of the items in this collection are correspondences that shed light onto life in a small town in North Carolina, daily life at Elon College, and what it is like being part of the U.S. military during World War II.

The Alonzo L. Hook collection documents multiple transitions, events, and aspects of life on the campus of Elon College from the early 1930's until the early 1980's.

This collection includes photographs taken by Alonzo Lohr Hook. All of the photographs are in the format of a negative or a glass plate negative. The images date from the 1910s-1970s and include pictures of Elon College campus buildings and spaces, individuals associated with Elon College, athletics, campus events and organizations, and a number of class photographs.

This collection consists of the sermons of the Reverend W. C. Hook. His sermons included subjects such as spiritual matters, church matters, memorial addresses, holidays (both religious and secular), special events, and communion services. Sermons were preached in churches of both the Christian and Methodist denominations. Written on the back of each sermon are the dates and locations it was used, mostly in North Carolina and Virginia. Also included are speeches to civic groups at banquets and other special events. Ephemera such as church programs, greeting cards, newspaper clippings, and pamphlets related to some sermons are also part of the collection.

Most of the materials in this collection pertain to Dewey Hooper as a student at Elon College during 1939 and 1940 and as a member of the US Army Air Forces Reserve during the early stages of WWII.

The collection contains materials documenting Marjorie Hunter's time as a student at Elon College in the late 1930's, early 1940's as well as her career as a journalist/reporter for the Washington Bureau of the New York Times.

This collection primarily contains photographs, magazines, newspapers, postcards, and other forms of printed material associated with World War II.

This is a collection of documents from Mrs. W. V. Leathers, a prominent figure in the Southern Convention of the Christian Church and Congregational Christian Churches, as well as the United Church of Christ. Materials include meeting minutes, reports, histories, financial ledgers, programs, guidebooks, manuals, yearbooks, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, devotionals, certificates, and photographs.

Small collection contains handwritten sermons by Rev. J.A. Ledbetter during 1861-1894, primarily from the 1870s. One photocopy of a photograph of Rev. Ledbetter is included along with his obituary.

This collection contains materials such as books, pamphlets, programs, photographs, correspondences, listings, legal documents, and various other forms of printed material that all pertain to the social, educational, and religious life of Fletcher Cummings Lester (F.C. Lester).

The William H. Maness collection contains a variety of materials relating to his tenure as a judge in Jacksonville, FL, as well as issues of racism, social inequality, the Civil Rights Movement in the United States, and the strides people took to promote the well-being and equality of the human race.

This collection consists primarily of letters written to Eula Mae Massey during the 1920s. Some of the letters reflect her time spent at Elon College as a student.

Collection contains both personal and business records related to the May Family of Burlington, North Carolina. In particular, many personal records relate to William Henry May and his wife, "Wattie" Sharpe May, such as correspondence between the pair throughout their marriage. It contains family history records such as genealogical information, personal narratives, and photo books. The collection also includes May family legal records such as deeds, estate records, pension records, military records, and others. Business records contained in the collection relate to the family's textile companies.

This collection contains miscellaneous documents about members of the McEwen family, who were prominent citizens in Burlington and Alamance County, North Carolina, and who gave generously to Elon University. The collection consists largely of personal and business correspondence.

This collection contains eight boxes of documents and miscellaneous items collected by Mr. Hubert McLendon. The items in this collection consist of a broad variety of materials which mainly pertain to Mr. McLendon's Confederate interest in the Civil War.

This collection consists of the papers of the Reverend James W. Morrison. It includes both his writings and documents collected by him in the course of his ministerial career. Documents include financial documents, minutes, newspaper clippings, agendas, and reports.

This collection consists of the papers of Dr. C. E. Newman, a minister of the Southern Christian Convention of the Congregational Christian Church. A label on the box the papers were in said: “Material from the study of Dr. C. E. Newman, Historian of the Southern Christian Convention, while he was pastor of Church at Virgilina. It was delivered to the Church History Room by Rev. Mathis who succeeded Dr. Newman." The collection includes Dr. Newman’s Reports of the Historian to the convention on a variety of topics related to the history of the church; many of the reports are histories of individual churches. Also included are Dr. Newman’s sermons, correspondence, funeral orations, and Sunday school lessons. In addition, there are some newsletters from the Southern Convention and information on the convention’s insurance plans.

This collection would be an excellent source for anyone who is conducting research in one or more of the following areas: genealogy of the O'Kelly family, beginnings of the Christian Church in the South, biographical information about James O'Kelly and his role in the Church during the late 1700s through mid 1800s, and the role the Church played in daily life and practice for both the layman and minister.

William R. Ramsay pioneered in the field of experiential learning and worked closely with student interns and the other associated universities and businesses involved through his interest and work experience.

This collection includes materials created by Robert Sigmon, a leading educator and advocate in the field of service-learning for higher education.

The collection contains letters that were sent from the President of Elon (L.E. Smith) and the Registrar (C.M. Cannon) to Carrie Lee Sizemore of Virginia urging her to attend Elon College for the 1933-34 school year.

This small but informative collection primarily contains materials that relate to the Pearl Harbor attack in Hawaii on December 7, 1941. Samuel D. Smith was aboard the USS Oklahoma when it was bombed by the Japanese, and was among the few survivors of the attack.

This collection outlines the accomplishments, awards, and certificates that Dr. Wally Snyder has received over the years for his service and dedication to Elon University and underprivileged children in the state of North Carolina.

This small collection reflects William Brown Terrell's lifelong interest in Elon College affairs, particularly documenting his active participation during his student years and his involvement with the Alumni Association.

This collection includes materials and documents relating to the Town of Elon, North Carolina.

The George Troxler Papers contain Dr. Troxler’s work both as an administrator at Elon University as well as his research as a professor of history. Troxler served as a professor at Elon and was also Director of Cultural Programs and chief graduation marshal for the school’s annual commencement. Troxler retired from Elon in 2010; in 2014, he was named University Historian, and researched many projects related to Elon’s history.

This collection primarily contains Correspondence from Angie Henry Utt to her family, in which she discusses in detail daily life and activities at Elon College during the late 1930s and early 1940s.

This collection offers a small glimpse into the world of Elon College's theatre, choir, and cultural programs during the 1950s.

This collection consists of the papers of the Reverend Charles W. Warlick. The collection spans his ministerial career from the 1890s to the 1950s; it includes sermons, correspondence, manuscripts, patents, checks, receipts, certificates, bank statements, ledgers, photographs, and newspaper clippings. This collection will be of interest to researchers of the Evangelical and Reformed Church in North Carolina during the early 20th century, as well as United Church of Christ in North Carolina and the experience of members of the clergy.

This collection documents the life of James Willis Wellons, a minister of the Christian Church in the South. J.W. Wellons was also one of the founders of Elon College and served on the Board of Trustees until his passing in 1927.