Archives & Special Collections

​Reading Room Guidelines

1. All materials must be used in the reading room and handled with care.  
2. Please use only pencils, laptops, and/or digital cameras.
3. No food or drink.
4. Please keep materials in the order in which they are found.
5. Permission to photocopy is required, scanning is done by staff only. 

Copyright & Reproductions

Researchers assume full responsibility for conforming to copyright, laws of libel, and property rights when quoting or publishing materials. Contact archives staff for publication guidelines and application when interested in reproducing or publishing content from the Archives & Special Collections. 

Privacy & Use Policy

Some records in the archives may contain restrictions. Requests to view restricted materials require permission from the creator of the records. On rare occasion patron registration and usage information may be shared with other campus offices when necessary. 

Take-Down Policy for Digital Materials

Elon University Archives and Special Collections provides access to digital collections to further education and research. Great care has been taken to adhere to all known copyright and rights of privacy. However, due to the nature of archival collections, this information is not always available.

Users of the digital collections who have found materials on this website for which they have not granted permission or which is not covered by a copyright exception under US copyright laws may request the removal of the materials by contacting the Elon University/Belk Library Archives and Special Collections at belkarchives@elon.edu with the following:

• Contact information, such as an address, telephone number, or email address
• Exact URL where the material was found or sufficient information to locate the materials such as a screenshot
• A statement indicating the nature of the issue, such as non-attribution, misattribution, copyright infringement, or privacy concern
• A statement of ownership, or authorization to act on behalf of the owner, and explanation of any claims to rights for the material

Upon receipt of the request, Elon University Archives and Special Collections staff will:

• Acknowledge receipt of the request via email or other means of communication
• Assess the validity of the request
• Temporarily remove the material from public view while the concern is reviewed
• Complete a thorough assessment and take appropriate action accordingly
• Communicate the outcome of the assessment and resulting actions with the requestor.