Zines

"Teen and young adult librarians, high school media specialists, academic librarians, and reference and adult services librarians will find the answers to their questions about this new and growing literary genre, including what defines a zine, the pros and cons of developing a zine collection, and best practices to promote, catalog, and display zines in your library."--Cover

"With names like The East Village Inky, Mend My Dress, Dear Stepdad, and I'm So F&*king Beautiful, zines created by girls and women over the past two decades make feminism's third wave visible. These messy, photocopied do-it-yourself documents cover every imaginable subject matter and are loaded with handwriting, collage art, stickers, and glitter. Though they all reflect the personal style of the creators, they are also sites for constructing narratives, identities, and communities. Girl Zines is the first book-length exploration of this exciting movement. Alison Piepmeier argues that these quirky, personalized booklets are tangible examples of the ways that girls and women 'do' feminism today. The idiosyncratci, surprising, and savvy arguments and issues showcased in the forty-six images reproduced in the book provide a complex window into feminism's future, where zinesters persistently and stubbornly carve out new spaces for what it means to be a revolutionary and a girl." - Publisher

"For the past two decades, young women (and men) have found their way to feminism through Riot Grrrl. Against the backdrop of the culture wars and before the rise of the Internet or desktop publishing, the zine and music culture of the Riot Grrrl movement empowered young women across the country to speak out against sexism and oppression, creating a powerful new force of liberation and unity within and outside of the women's movement. While feminist bands like Bikini Kill and Bratmobile fought for their place in a male-dominated punk scene, their members and fans developed an extensive DIY network of activism and support. The Riot Grrrl Collection reproduces a sampling of the original zines, posters, and printed matter for the first time since their initial distribution in the 1980s and '90s, and includes an original essay by Johanna Fateman and an introduction by Lisa Darms." - Publisher

"Ripped, torn and cut offers a collection of original essays exploring the motivations behind - and the politics within - the multitude of fanzines that emerged in the wake of British punk from 1976. Sniffin' Glue (1976-77), Mark Perry's iconic punk fanzine, was but the first of many, paving the way for hundreds of home-made magazines to be cut and pasted in bedrooms across the UK. From these, glimpses into provincial cultures, teenage style wars and formative political ideas may be gleaned. An alternative history, away from the often-condescending glare of London's media and music industry, can be formulated, drawn from such titles as Ripped & Torn, Brass Lip, City Fun, Vague, Kill Your Pet Puppy, Toxic Grafity, Hungry Beat and Hard as Nails. The first book of its kind, this collection reveals the contested nature of punk's cultural politics by turning the pages of a vibrant underground press."

"This is the 6th edition of Stolen Sharpie Revolution, including both Stolen Sharpie Revolution and Stolen Sharpie revolution 2. The distinction between the two was only made in the 4th edition to show the change in publisher, I hope that wasn't too confusing. 2020 marks the 18th anniversary of this little red book!"

"A zine is a handmade magazine or mini-comic about anything you can imagine: favorite bands, personal stories, subcultures, or collections. They contain diary entries, rants, interviews, and stories. They can be by one person or many, found in stores, traded at comic conventions, exchanged with friends, or given away for free. Zines are not a new idea: they've been around for years under various names (chapbooks, flyers, pamphlets). People with independent ideas have been getting their word out since before there were printing presses. This book is for anyone who wants to create their own zine. It's for learning tips and tricks from contributors who have been at the forefront of the zine movement. It's for learning how to design and print your own zine so you can put it in others' hands. It's for anyone who has something to say." -from publisher description.

"Whipper Snapper Nerd is an unexpected compilation of divergent artwork and writing created by ten artists at Creativity Explored. Originally appearing in the 1990s as small-edition photocopied zines produced by Fletcher and Meyer, each of the first eight issues was devoted to an individual artist, including Michael Bernard Loggins, James Miles, John Patrick McKenzie, Barbara Doehrman, David Jarvey, Andrew Li, Robert Margolis, and Diane Scaccalosi. Celebrating the original Whipper Snapper Nerd's 25th anniversary, this snappy compilation also includes excerpts from two new zines featuring work by Gerald Wiggins and Christina Marie Fong." - Publisher

"Back in print after over a decade, see how Pagan Kennedy's career got started in this hilarious autobiography from the pioneer of the 90's 'zine movement, and the current New York Times design columnist. A young woman named Pagan, just graduated from a writing program at a very prestigious university, is left with one burning question--now what? She then takes an unusual step by deciding to invent her new self--the one the public will know--by creating her own magazine, written, created by, and starring none other than herself"-- Provided by publisher.

Available in Print and eBook.
"This is the first comprehensive guidebook to the Zine Movement of self-publishing which started anew in the early 1990s, and continues with Internet blogs and publications like Found. Used in college classes, this how-to volume covers all aspects of self-publishing, including layout and design, promotion, marketing and distribution. Historical background covers everything from Benjamin Franklin's Poor Richard's Almanack to the science-fiction mimeographed zines of the 20s."