Streaming Introduction
Elon University provides many streaming video and streaming audio services. Streaming media is video or audio content sent in compressed form over the Internet and played immediately, rather than being saved to your computer's hard drive. With streaming media, you do not have to wait to download a file before you can play it. Because the media is sent in a continuous stream of data, it can play as it arrives.
We work with several vendors who provide streaming media for the university. This streaming video and audio are available to Elon students, faculty and staff.
The streaming video the Elon provides often/frequently includes Public Performance Rights. Public Performance Rights (PPR) are the legal rights to publicly show a film or video. Normally the media producer or distributor manages these rights and they can assign PPR to others through a Public Performance License. Films on Demand and Academic Video Online streaming videos have Public Performance Rights included in Elon's licenses. What does this mean for you? You can show these videos anywhere on campus to any audience as long as NO admission fees are charged. However, not every film in Kanopy has PPR. If you are interested in showing a film from Kanopy, please contact Kanopy and ask if PPR is included.
For more information about Public Performance Rights look at this https://elon.libguides.com/facstaff/ppr
Belk Library Streaming Video Subscriptions
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowOver 68,000 titles spanning a wide range of subjects: anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. AVON includes a variety of video material with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage.
- Films on Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new windowThousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
- Films on Demand: Just for Kids This link opens in a new windowThe Just for Kids Streaming Collection gives children—and their parents—a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform they can freely explore and enjoy. Includes educational videos, sports drills, cartoons, and classics like Sesame Street.
- Docuseek This link opens in a new windowDocuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films to colleges and universities, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution, including Bullfrog, Icarus, and First Run Features. NOTE: Films will only be available by faculty/staff request. Click here to order a Docuseek video that we don't have access to already.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowFor off campus access, please sign in with your Elon username and password.
Large collection of video documentaries and movies from many producers covering many subjects; pop culture, nursing, public health, lgbt issues, social sciences, sciences, political science and events, the arts, global studies, education, etc. NOTE: Kanopy has changed to mediated access and films will only be available by faculty/staff request. Click here to order Kanopy Streaming Videos that we don't have access to already.
- Kanopy Licensed TitlesTitles of Kanopy film licensed to Elon
FAST (Free Ad-Supported Streaming TV) Databases
These are free sites where you can watch thousands of movies and television shows from all over the world. All it costs is a bit of your time to watch the ads.
- CineverseAccording to their press release, Cineverse "aims to build the world's largest film and television library, offering the immense diversity and variety that viewers are being denied on subscription-based services."
- PeacockNBC's streaming service. Has 10,000 hours of free content and more that can only be seen with a subscription. You do need to create an account.
- Reelgood List of Streaming moviesReelgood not only has a lot of content to watch, but it also tells you where you can watch titles, indexing over 150 services like Netflix, Prime, Hulu, etc.
- TubiOwned by Fox, contains 35,000+ hours of free content. Movies, shows, sports & more.