Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Queer Archives at Elon and Beyond

This provides some useful resources for conducting primary source research using Elon's institutional archives, as well as online resources including Elon's database subscriptions and materials freely available online.

Queer Zines

“Lavender Zines (@lavenderzines00) / Twitter.” Twitter, https://twitter.com/lavenderzines00

angelinebadams. Lisa Ben. https://turniplanterns.wordpress.com/tag/lisa-ben/

Basic [Top] Surgery Survival Guide - A Zine for Trans and Non-Binary Babes and Allies by Enby.Journey [Skylar S.] - Issuu. https://issuu.com/enby.journey/docs/zine_-_basic_surgery_survival_guide_f0e77542ceba96

Ben (Lisa) Papers. https://oac.cdlib.org/findaid/ark:/13030/c8k93d2w/entire_text/

Clit Rocket Issue Two. Internet Archive, http://archive.org/details/ClitRocketIssueTwo

Comrades: A Zine (Unexhaustively) Tracing Black and Asian (American) Solidarities by Shania Khoo - Issuu. https://issuu.com/shaniak/docs/comrades_zine

Dykes to Watch Out For » Strip Archive. https://dykestowatchoutfor.com/strip-archive-by-number/

ESCUELA VERDE QUEER AND ALLIES COLLECTIVE ZINE #1 by Diya Noble - Issuu. https://issuu.com/escuelaverde/docs/download_file

Final_zine.Pdf. https://www.faggotz.org/final_zine.pdf

Gender Bender Zine by Alexsongcuan - Issuu. https://issuu.com/alexsongcuan/docs/gb-zine_d4a7180c3ab4e3

Lineage-Print-Version.Pdf. https://queerlonelydiaries.files.wordpress.com/2021/09/lineage-print-version.pdf

Main.Pdf. http://www.qzap.org/v5/gallery/main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=1459

Marimachamonarcapress Publisher Publications - Issuu. https://issuu.com/marimachamonarcapress

Memoirs of a Queer Hapa #2 (2009) by POC Zine Project - Issuu. https://issuu.com/poczineproject/docs/queerhapa21. Accessed 7 Feb. 2022.

Mini Queer of Color Critiques Zine by Oregon State University WGSS - Issuu. https://issuu.com/elrbarrett/docs/mini_zine

Outspeaking: Historical and Current Queer College Activism (DZP #5) by Matthewpruitt101 - Issuu. https://issuu.com/matthewpruitt101/docs/in_search_of_progress__historical_and_current_quee

Pen Fight – Queer & Feminist Zines, Books, Art, DIY & Tiny Press. https://penfightdistro.com/

Queer Love Zine by Daniel Nguyen - Issuu. https://issuu.com/danielnguyen31/docs/done

Queerantine Zine Issue 1 by McKenna Calabro - Issuu. https://issuu.com/lesbardian/docs/queerantine_zine_issue_1__3_

Queercore-Booklet.Pdf. https://ccgsd-ccdgs.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/Queercore-Booklet.pdf

RTB Zine Issue #2 by RTB Zine - Issuu. https://issuu.com/reclaimthebindi/docs/rtbzine_2

“Sapphics in Lockdown: #1 | Queer Zine Library | TinyCat.” Queer Zine Library, https://www.librarycat.org/minipac.php

“Shotgun Seamstress Zine No. 4 : Sister Outsider… | Queer Zine Library | TinyCat.” Queer Zine Library, https://www.librarycat.org/minipac.php

Shotgunseamstress Publisher Publications - Issuu. https://issuu.com/shotgunseamstress

Toward the Queerest Insurrection. Internet Archive, http://archive.org/details/TowardTheQueerestInsurrection

Translash Publisher Publications - Issuu. https://issuu.com/TransLash

TransLash Zine Vol. 4: Migration Stories by TransLash Zine - Issuu. https://issuu.com/translash/docs/translash_zine04_digitalpages

“Vice Versa.” Homoglobin, https://www.homoglobin.org/blog/vice-versa

Vice Versa, Introduction. https://queermusicheritage.com/viceversa0.html

Vice Versa, Vol.1 Issue 1. https://queermusicheritage.com/viceversa1.html

Vice Versa, Vol.1 Issue 2. https://queermusicheritage.com/viceversa2.html

Vice Versa, Vol.1 Issue 6. https://queermusicheritage.com/viceversa6.html

Vice Versa, Vol.1 Issue 8. https://queermusicheritage.com/viceversa8.html

Vice Versa, Vol.1 Issue 9. https://queermusicheritage.com/viceversa9.html

Articles about Queer Zines

Beyond Binaries: Next Generation Queer Feminism by Kvartir - Issuu. https://issuu.com/kvartir/docs/beyond_binaries_zine_eng

Bhadury, Poushali. “‘There Is No Such Thing as a Straight Woman’: Queer Female Representations in South Asian Graphic Narratives.” Journal of Lesbian Studies, vol. 22, no. 4, Oct. 2018, pp. 424–34. Taylor and Francis+NEJM, https://doi.org/10.1080/10894160.2018.1449999.

Billey, Amber, et al. “What’s Gender Got to Do with It? A Critique of RDA 9.7.” Cataloging & Classification Quarterly, vol. 52, no. 4, May 2014, pp. 412–21. Taylor and Francis+NEJM, https://doi.org/10.1080/01639374.2014.882465.

Brouwer, Daniel C. “Counterpublicity and Corporeality in HIV/AIDS Zines.” Critical Studies in Media Communication, vol. 22, no. 5, Dec. 2005, pp. 351–71. Taylor and Francis+NEJM, https://doi.org/10.1080/07393180500342860.

Brouwer, Daniel C., and Adela C. Licona. “Trans(Affective)Mediation: Feeling Our Way from Paper to Digitized Zines and Back Again.” Critical Studies in Media Communication, vol. 33, no. 1, Jan. 2016, pp. 70–83. DOI.org (Crossref), https://doi.org/10.1080/15295036.2015.1129062.

---. “Trans(Affective)Mediation: Feeling Our Way from Paper to Digitized Zines and Back Again.” Critical Studies in Media Communication, vol. 33, no. 1, Jan. 2016, pp. 70–83. Taylor and Francis+NEJM, https://doi.org/10.1080/15295036.2015.1129062.

Brumfield, Dale M. “Edythe Eyde — Aka Lisa Ben, Aka Tigrina — Was America’s Most Lovably Eccentric Renaissance Woman.” Lessons from History, 7 Mar. 2020, https://medium.com/lessons-from-history/edythe-eyde-aka-lisa-ben-aka-tigrina-was-americas-most-lovably-eccentric-renaissance-woman-ca222df1b2e0.

“Decades before ‘The L Word,’ She Risked Jail to Create a Magazine for Lesbians.” Washington Post. www.washingtonpost.com, https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/retropolis/wp/2017/07/12/a-magazine-for-lesbians-was-illegal-70-years-ago-she-created-one-anyway/

Dunne, Stephen. “Inter/Erupt!: Queer Zine Scene?” Media International Australia, Nov. 1995. world, search.informit.org, https://search.informit.org/doi/abs/10.3316/informit.086165526902072.

“Episode 03 — Edythe Eyde.” Making Gay History, https://makinggayhistory.com/podcast/episode-1-3/

Galil, Leor. “Thirty Years Ago, a Black Queer Zine Captured the Scene That Birthed House.” Chicago Reader, 9 June 2021, http://chicagoreader.com/music/thirty-years-ago-a-black-queer-zine-captured-the-scene-that-birthed-house/.

Licona, Adela C. Zines in Third Space: Radical Cooperation and Borderlands Rhetoric. SUNY Press, 2012.

Lineage-Print-Version.Pdf. https://queerlonelydiaries.files.wordpress.com/2021/09/lineage-print-version.pdf

Long, Thomas L. “Plague of Pariahs: AIDS ’Zines and the Rhetoric of Transgression.” Journal of Communication Inquiry, vol. 24, no. 4, Oct. 2000, pp. 401–11. SAGE Journals, https://doi.org/10.1177/0196859900024004004.

Off Our Backs on JSTOR. https://www.jstor.org/site/reveal-digital/independent-voices/offourbacks-27953711/

ONE on JSTOR. https://www.jstor.org/site/reveal-digital/independent-voices/one-27953719/

Outlook on JSTOR. https://www.jstor.org/site/reveal-digital/independent-voices/outlook-27953731/

Pen Fight – Queer & Feminist Zines, Books, Art, DIY & Tiny Press. https://penfightdistro.com/

“Queer Zines.” Printed Matter, https://www.printedmatter.org/76KowxBgdNApUcEQ9Elx8IEgdwzuRqaT8qipAKb3qBfa+9jsNuwPYx1OELeLCxYA+nQkHIIM78eFW8WHyBbqg==

Spew: The Homographic Convergence, May 25, 1991 | SAIC Digital Collections. https://digitalcollections.saic.edu/islandora/object/islandora%3Arsga_7608?solr_nav%5Bid%5D=8312685ab2ba1d25d132&solr_nav%5Bpage%5D=0&solr_nav%5Boffset%5D=2

“The Lost World War II Letters of Edythe Eyde, Who Started America’s First Lesbian Publication.” Washington Post. www.washingtonpost.com, https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/checkpoint/wp/2018/01/03/in-the-washington-post-letters-from-war-project-a-lesbian-pioneer-makes-a-surprise-appearance/

Toward the Queerest Insurrection. Internet Archive, http://archive.org/details/TowardTheQueerestInsurrection

Zines, E-Zines, Fanzines : The Book of Zines : Directory. http://www.zinebook.com/index.html

“Zines to the Future! The Secret History of Zines.” StoryMapJS, https://uploads.knightlab.com/storymapjs/835654c08e4d0ff32634810decc3830e/zines-to-the-future-the-secret-history-of-zines/index.html