This provides some useful resources for conducting primary source research using Elon's institutional archives, as well as online resources including Elon's database subscriptions and materials freely available online.
Since 1973, the The ArQuives (formerly the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives) has been acquiring and preserving material documenting LGBTQ2+ history. Our mandate is to acquire, preserve, organize, and provide public access to information and materials, in any medium, by and about LGBTQ2+ people, primarily produced in or concerning Canada.
The LGBT Community Center National History Archive is a community-based archive that collects, preserves, and makes available to the public the documentation of LGBTQ lives and organizations centered in and around New York. Through our collections, we enable the stories and experiences of New York’s LGBTQ people to be told with historical depth and understanding.
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
The Tretter Collection holds approximately 3,500 linear feet of material—including books, periodicals, grey literature, personal and organizational records, zines and pamphlets, artifacts and ephemera, and audiovisual materials.
The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities. Doing this also serves to uncover and document our herstory previously denied to us by patriarchal historians in the interests of the culture that they served. The existence of the Archives will thus enable current and future generations to analyze and reevaluate the Lesbian experience.
Founded in 2014, the LGBTQ Oral History Digital Collaboratory is directed by Prof. Elspeth Brown and based at the University of Toronto. As the largest LGBTQ oral history project in North American history, the Collaboratory connects archives across Canada and the U.S. to produce a digital history hub for the research and study of gay, lesbian, queer, and trans oral histories.
The goal of OUTSpoken: Oral History from LGBTQ Pioneers is to preserve essential history through collecting, archiving, and making widely available first-hand oral histories of LGBTQ pioneers. The activist pioneers who gave birth to the modern LGBTQ movement in the years immediately following New York’s 1969 Stonewall Rebellion are vanishing yearly, so it is with a sense of urgency that this project proceeds. Once many hundreds strong, the courageous women and men of the Stonewall generation seized the moment to create an altogether new type of radical LGBTQ political activism that was sharply distinct from the homophile movement that preceded it. It is our belief that stories of those active during this germinal period will be of particular interest to historians, students and LGBTQ people for years to come.
The Stonewall National Museum and Archives (SNMA) is one of the largest gay archives and libraries in the United States, now almost 50 years old. However, we have no direct link to the Stonewall Riots in New York in 1969. When we were founded in 1972, the founder Mark Silber used the name “Stonewall” to recognize the fight for LGBTQ liberation that began at the Stonewall Inn in 1969. It was a name with meaning then and it has become nearly synonymous with gay liberation efforts since that time.
The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria is committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of Trans+ and other gender-diverse people.
We are a vital Lesbian and feminist community resource committed to sharing our history across generations, ethnicity, race, and personal belief systems by collecting, preserving and making available unique memorabilia in a safe and welcoming environment.