This provides some useful resources for conducting primary source research using Elon's institutional archives, as well as online resources including Elon's database subscriptions and materials freely available online.
LGBT Identities, Communities, and Resistance in North Carolina, 1945-2012” is a project produced by thirty-three students from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in partial fulfillment of their requirements for the advanced undergraduate seminar U.S. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Histories.
In 2013, the Multicultural Resource Center and the J. Murrey Atkins Library partnered to establish a local LGBTQ archive focusing specifically on Charlotte and the surrounding community. This guide provides links to queer publications and the Charlotte Queer Oral History Project.
The Southern Oral History Program Interview Database provides detailed descriptions of interviews in the Southern Oral History Program Collection (04007). The interviews in this collection were conducted or collected under the auspices of the Southern Oral History Program in the Center for the Study of the American South at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Searching here will search across regional and local newspapers including the Alamance Gleaner (Graham, NC) 1875-1882, 1911-1947; the Mebane Leader, 1911-1915; the Twice-a-Week Dispatch (Burlington) 1908-1915.
The largest online newspaper archive. Search historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Explore newspaper articles and clippings for help with genealogy, history and other research.1700s-2000s. Includes newspapers from NC and Alamance County.