Business Research Librarian
Betty Garrison
she/her/hers
Country Research
Use this guide to begin country research. Locate information about a country's business etiquette, financial soundness, cultural norms, economic data and market opportunities.
Country Profiles
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowGlobal Road Warrior is a country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. It consists of 174 country guides of 119 topics each. Global Road Warrior can be used to research issues in international and cross-cultural studies, international business, the social sciences, women’s studies, language studies, and study abroad programs.
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowOffers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources. 205 countries are researched.
- ProQuest Country ReportsCountry reports from Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Finance & Forecast Reports, Oxford Economics Country Economic Forecast, and OxResearch Country Profiles.
- The World Factbook - CIAExtensive statistical information on every country in the world.
- Countries and Their CulturesPresents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison.
Doing Business In Other Countries
- Country Commercial GuidesExport.Gov helps U.S. businesses participate in the global marketplace with information on trade events, tariffs and export counseling assistance.
Country Relationships
- U.S. Department of State - Bilateral RelationsDescribes the cultural, political and economic relationships between countries and the United States.
Trading Partners
- World Trade Organization Trade ProfilesTrade profiles provide a series of key indicators on trade in goods and services for over 190 economies, highlighting the major exports and imports for each economy as well as their main trading partners.
- Country Reports from Business Source CompleteSelect MARKET RESEARCH REPORTS then COUNTRY REPORTS
- Passport This link opens in a new windowTo Find Trade Partners and Statistics: Scroll down to Search Analysis, then Economies and Consumers, then Economy, Finance and Trade, then select a country.
Country Statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics, studies and reports from over 18,000 sources. Includes data from businesses, government departments, market research concerns or associations and more.
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowGlobal Road Warrior is a country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. It consists of 174 country guides of 119 topics each. Global Road Warrior can be used to research issues in international and cross-cultural studies, international business, the social sciences, women’s studies, language studies, and study abroad programs.
- UNDataA comprehensive array of international and national databases providing the world instant access to a wealth of statistical information.
- U.S. Census Bureau International DatabaseThe IDB is a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.
- World BankThe Data & Research page has extensive information on the countries of the world, statistical datasets, and reports.
Country Newspapers
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive news collection cover events at the local, regional, national and international level. This source includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Also includes news articles from 1970-1991, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives. (Primary source)
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowInstant access to 6000+ newspapers and magazines from 120+ countries in 60+ languages. These are usually daily papers; no archives.
- World Newspapers OnlineAnother website that compiles online newspapers from around the world. Each title has a few lines of description.
- Online NewspapersA list of newspapers from all over the world. Select your continent to get started. Some of the papers are in English.
- New York TimesSelect "World" at the top of the page, or use the search box to search for a particular country.
- BBCU.K. and world news
Business Culture
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowGlobal Road Warrior is a country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. It consists of 174 country guides of 119 topics each. Global Road Warrior can be used to research issues in international and cross-cultural studies, international business, the social sciences, women’s studies, language studies, and study abroad programs.
Global Business Etiquette by Call Number: 395.52 M364gL2Publication Date: 2012Whether you are preparing for a long-term overseas assignment or a short trip abroad to meet with clients, customers, suppliers, or distributors, Global Business Etiquette will be an indispensable resource for understanding the dynamics of cross-cultural communication, avoiding embarrassing (and costly) gaffes, and successfully navigating the subtleties of social interaction.
International Business Etiquette by Call Number: 395.52 Sa13int2Publication Date: 2012Business etiquette Latin America.
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands - Sales and Marketing by Call Number: 395.52 M834kiPublication Date: 2011Provides the expert knowledge you need to gather data in diverse cultures, properly present your products, and close deals around the world.
Search for information
Search Belk Library's online system to find both library materials and articles in our databases. Use the search box below to do a basic search on library materials and databases.