Citation Guides
The MLA Handbook is available at the Information desk, along with copies of many other style guides. Other guides to MLA are available online, such as:
- EasyBib How to cite anything in MLA 8Scroll down to find links to all types of materials and how to cite them.
- MLA 2009 Formatting and Style GuideThis is from the OWL at Purdue University; includes examples.
- MLA DocumentationGood site with examples, most current version of MLA
- MLA 7 vs. MLA 8: What you need to know!The simple answer is in MLA 8 you add abbreviations (pp. for pages) and the URL. But this site lists all the changes. Remember if you use a citation builder, check which form of MLA it uses!
Zotero Citation Manager
- Register for a free Zotero accountRegistering a user account lets you sync your library so you can access it on different computers. You can also collaborate and share bibliographies with others.
- Add items to your Zotero LibrarySave articles, books, websites, and more with just one click
The zotero Citation Manager is a free, easy to use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
Follow these steps to start building your own Zotero Library:
- Zotero Screencasts demosLearn more about Zotero.
How to cite images
Visual sources can be difficult to cite, so be sure to 1) include as much information as you can, 2) format the elements consistently, and 3) adapt the general formats as described in published citation style guides as needed. If you have questions, please contact me.
Citing images from an image database, such as ARTstor, should include most, if not all, of this information (or as much of it as can be easily determined from the source).
- creator's name
- title of the image as given in the database
- date of creation
- name and location of the institution that houses the image (if any)
- dimensions (if known)
- material or format (painting, sculpture, photograph, etc.)
- database name and URL
- date accessed the database
- How do I cite an image?CMOS shop talk (blog) from The Chicago Manual of Style
- Citing Images in Chicago StyleExamples from Dickinson College, PA
- How to cite images (University of Cincinnati)Examples for MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago Manual of Style
- How to cite images (Purdue Online Writing Lab)MLA examples of how to cite a painting, sculpture, or photograph (about half way down the page)
- Citing image sources (Artstor)Examples of how to cite images, including a museum object, a database and a website; from Artstor
Writing Center
Elon's Writing Center will help you with understanding an assignment, brainstorming, drafting, revising, editing, & documenting sources.