What makes a source credible?
Ask these questions* to help determine if a source is credible:
- Who is the author?
- How recent is the source?
- What is the author's purpose?
- What type of sources does your audience value?
* From Using Research and Evidence, the Purdue Online Writing Lab
Consider a source to be credible if you can determine it is a resource that is vetted in your discipline.
Exhibition reviews
Search for info in our library system
Search Belk Library's online system to find both library materials and articles in our databases. Use the search box below to do a basic search on library materials and databases.
Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Coverage includes history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, humanities and social sciences. Some current issues are available now.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications and other non-Western art.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowMagazines, journals, trade publications and books covering a variety of art and architecture subjects including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and more. Includes image collection of over 63,000 images.
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowFeatures hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Interlibrary loan (from other libraries)
Can't find a book or article through Belk Library subscriptions? Use our free Interlibrary Loan service and we'll get it for you from another library.