Data, Mapping and Analysis Tools & Resources

The USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. Provides simple, one-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. Includes results from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the National Agricultural Library Digital Collections (NALDC).

Data covers the period 1972 to present, and include information about plants and animals in terrestrial, freshwater and marine environments of Barkley Sound.

The Biological Records Centre is a national focus in the UK for terrestrial and freshwater species recording. The aim of BRC’s publication and research work is to help link volunteer recording efforts to those of research scientists, and develop innovative observational projects that add new insights into large-scale biological processes.

A catalogue of databases, described according to the BioDBcore guidelines, along with the standards used within them; partly compiled with the support of Oxford University Press (NAR Database Issue and DATABASE Journal) and Re3Data.org.

The CEBS database houses data of interest to environmental health scientists. CEBS is a public resource, and has received depositions of data from academic, industrial and governmental laboratories.

The Conserved Domain Database is a resource for the annotation of functional units in proteins. Its collection of domain models includes a set curated by NCBI, which utilizes 3D structure to provide insights into sequence/structure/function relationships.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information's archive project which distributes the results of studies that have investigated the interaction of genotype and phenotype.

This website has been set up and is being operated to provide an effective navigation tool to data and information sources in Europe, to oceanographic data and information, managed by European centres, and to centres in Europe with expertise and skills in oceanographic and marine data & information management.

The Human Genome Project (HGP) refers to the international 13-year effort, formally begun in October 1990 and completed in 2003, to discover all the estimated 20,000-25,000 human genes and make them accessible for further biological study.

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ is the world's most comprehensive information source on the extinction risk of animals, fungi and plants. Assessors place species into one of the IUCN Red List Categories, based on a series of assessment criteria. For each species, The IUCN Red List provides information about its range, population size, habitat and ecology, use and/or trade, threats and conservation actions. For a summary of the number of species on the current Red List, see the Summary Statistics page or use the Advanced Search.

MorphoBank displays - over the web - dynamic phylogenetic matrices of morphological characters with labeled images demonstrating homology.

Catalog of all NCBI databases and tools

NEBC works to enable environmental research in the molecular age.

The Neuroscience Information Framework is a dynamic inventory of Web-based neuroscience resources: data, materials, and tools accessible via any computer connected to the Internet.

Data and maps provided by the USGS on amphibians.

The University of Oxford Text Archive develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning.

The Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids. These are the molecules of life that are found in all organisms including bacteria, yeast, plants, flies, other animals, and humans. Understanding the shape of a molecule helps to understand how it works. This knowledge can be used to help deduce a structure's role in human health and disease, and in drug development. The structures in the archive range from tiny proteins and bits of DNA to complex molecular machines like the ribosome.

The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

UniProt provides the scientific community with a comprehensive, high-quality and freely accessible resource of protein sequence and functional information.

ChemDoodle Web Components allow the wielder to present publication quality 2D and 3D graphics and animations for chemical structures, reactions and spectra.

The service gives on-line access to a rich variety of quality databases in fields relating to chemistry.

The CEBS database houses data of interest to environmental health scientists. CEBS is a public resource, and has received depositions of data from academic, industrial and governmental laboratories.

Open data repository for data on materials and chemical information, including alloys, polymers, and semiconductors.

The EarthChem Library (ECL) is a data repository that archives, publishes and makes accessible data and other digital content from geoscience research (analytical data, data syntheses, models, technical reports, etc).

The National Atmospheric Chemistry Database (NAtChem) is a data archival and analysis facility operated by the Science and Technology Branch of Environment Canada.

This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.

PubChem provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.

The Biological Records Centre is a national focus in the UK for terrestrial and freshwater species recording. The aim of BRC’s publication and research work is to help link volunteer recording efforts to those of research scientists, and develop innovative observational projects that add new insights into large-scale biological processes.

Download CAD basemap data for select cities in the US and the world. Layers include roads, buildings, coastline, stream & lakes, parks and other features. Data derived from Open Street Map.

CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.

The Encyclopedia of DNA Elements (ENCODE) Consortium is an international collaboration of research groups funded by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI). The goal of ENCODE is to build a comprehensive parts list of functional elements in the human genome, including elements that act at the protein and RNA levels, and regulatory elements that control cells and circumstances in which a gene is active.

The GCMD holds more than 25,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences.

Sponsored by the NSF, IRIS provides wide ranging seismic data, including time series, event, and historical data.

The National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) is one of the national environmental data centers operated by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) of the U.S. Department of Commerce.

NEON collects environmental data and archival samples that characterize plant, animals, soil, nutrients, freshwater and atmosphere from 81 field sites strategically located in terrestrial and freshwater ecosystems across the U.S.

A public domain map dataset available at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110 million scales. includes vector and raster data, can also create maps.

The NEES Project Warehouse is the centralized data repository for sharing and publishing earthquake engineering research data from experimental and numerical studies.

GIS Datasets with focus on US coastal areas and resources

NOS Data Explorer offers access to many products, including bathymetry, coastal maps, environmental sensitivity index maps, aerial photographs, and more.

Primary portal to view and access NRCS Soil Survey datasets

The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana

TreeBASE is a repository of phylogenetic information, specifically user-submitted phylogenetic trees and the data used to generate them.

Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center is a remotely sensed data management, systems development, and research field center for the USGS Climate and Land Use Change Mission Area.

Includes data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators.

Provides statistics and other data relating to major energy sectors, including petroleum, natural gas, coal, nuclear, and renewables.

Energy statistics by country

Contains both experimental and evaluated nuclear data including nuclear reaction ((the properties of interacting nuclei, e.g. cross sections) and nuclear structure (the properties of single nuclei) data.

A comprehensive source for data on U.S. and Canadian power plants, energy companies, coal mines, and gas pipelines. Provides detail on financials, filings, supply and demand fundamentals, emissions, hourly market pricing, electricity rates, and more. Includes daily, weekly, and monthly newsletters covering various segments of the energy industry.

Provides energy data for more than 215 countries, areas and regions on the production, trade and intermediate and final consumption for primary and secondary conventional, non-conventional and new and renewable sources of energy from 1990 onwards.

Comprehensive data on oil from all over the world.

Monthly data for the biggest oil producing and consuming countries.

Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.

Provides air quality data for 500 U.S. cities, as well as U.S. consulates and embassies. Includes an interactive map.

The Amazon Sustainability Data Initiative (ASDI) seeks to accelerate sustainability research and innovation by minimizing the cost and time required to acquire and analyze large sustainability datasets.

Includes data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators.

BP, one of the world's largest energy companies, publishes statistical reviews of world energy, projections and historical data.

The British Atmospheric Data Centre (BADC) is the Natural Environment Research Council's (NERC) Designated Data Centre for the Atmospheric Sciences.

Environment Canada offers multiple data access services to specialized users that require information at regular intervals and in an unprocessed form.

Data Basin is a science-based mapping and analysis platform that supports learning, research, and sustainable environmental stewardship. DB Centers provide experts, datasets, maps, galleries, working groups that facilitate more effective collaboration.

DOEs officially designated data centers provide expertise and specialized services to ensure that important data collections are stored appropriately, processed and organized as needed, and made available for reference or reuse.

Provides datasets on environmental issues in the areas of population, health, society, natural systems, climate, energy, transportation, food & agriculture, and economy & policy.

Data sets curated from projects funded by NSF Divison of Environmental Biology.

The EDG is a gateway to Web-based geospatial information and information services. It enables data consumers to discover, view and access geospatial resources (e.g., data, services, or applications) made available by EPA's program offices, regions, and labs.

The EDG is a gateway to Web-based geospatial information and information services. It enables data consumers to discover, view and access geospatial resources (e.g., data, services, or applications) made available by EPA's program offices, regions, and labs.

The STORET (short for STOrage and RETrieval) Data Warehouse is a repository for water quality, biological, and physical data and is used by state environmental agencies, EPA and other federal agencies, universities, private citizens, and many others.

Sharing European environmental datasets, maps, charts and applications.

The Environmental Data Explorer is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments.

The Integrated Ocean Drilling Program (IODP) is an international research program that explores the history and structure of the earth as recorded in seafloor sediments and rocks.

ISDM's mandate is to manage and archive ocean data collected by DFO, or acquired through national and international programmes conducted in ocean areas adjacent to Canada, and to disseminate data, data products, and services to the marine community in accordance with the policies of the Department.

Provides climate, socio-economic and environmental data, both from the past and also in scenarios projected into the future.

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ is the world's most comprehensive information source on the extinction risk of animals, fungi and plants. Assessors place species into one of the IUCN Red List Categories, based on a series of assessment criteria. For each species, The IUCN Red List provides information about its range, population size, habitat and ecology, use and/or trade, threats and conservation actions. For a summary of the number of species on the current Red List, see the Summary Statistics page or use the Advanced Search.

JournalMap provides a unique new way of uncovering relevant research using study location data and environmental attributes.

The Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB) is a national network intended to facilitate ecological and environmental research on biocomplexity.

NEBC works to enable environmental research in the molecular age.

The DAAC provides data and information relevant to biogeochemical dynamics, ecological data, and environmental processes, critical for understanding the dynamics relating to the biological, geological, and chemical components of Earth's environmen

The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research.

The Polar Data Centre (PDC) coordinates the management of data collected by UK funded scientists in the polar regions.

SeaDataNet has developed an efficient distributed Marine Data Management Infrastructure for the management of large and diverse sets of data deriving from in situ and remote observation of the seas and oceans.

The St. Lawrence Global Observatory provides integrated access to scientific data in support of environmental conservation and economic development in the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Provides access to data compiled through the UN System in preparation for the Secretary-General's annual report on "Progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals"

UK air quality data and statistics archive.

An interactive site from the UN Environment Programme, with data, maps, reports and more.

Reports on climate change

Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. is a NSF funded project to provide infrastructure for national and international research on water resources, including a data portal.

United Nations agency providing data on fresh water issues around the globe.

The Urban Forest Map is a collaboration of government, nonprofits, businesses and you to build an inventory of San Francisco's urban forest.

The World Ozone and Ultraviolet Radiation Data Centre (WOUDC) is one of the World Data Centres which are part of the Global Atmosphere Watch (GAW) programme of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO).

Provides datasets, maps, data visualizations, charts, and graphs on environmental issues.

County-based data file summarizing secondary data from a wide variety of sources that are useful to health analysts investigating the nations health care delivery system. Released annually and available for download at the link above.Available in the SSDS on CD 2001-2010;

Focuses on medical device and medical equipment industries. Includes information on pipeline and marketed technologies, clinical trials, market projections, and comprehensive sector reports.

Covers the entire spectrum of the pharmaceutical value system from suppliers, manufacturers and distribution channel, all the way through to insights and trends. Includes data and information on marketed and pipeline drugs, clinical trials, analysis and forecasts on numerous disease markets.

The HMCA is the data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to health and health care in the United States. The archive preserves and disseminates health care data collected by researchers. Subjects covered include health care providers, cost/access to health care, substance abuse, and chronic health conditions.

The HCUP is the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, discharge-level information beginning in 1988.

KFF (Kaiser Family Foundation) is a nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations. KFF serves as a nonpartisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.

The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey, or MEPS as it is commonly called, is the third (and most recent) in a series of national probability surveys conducted by AHRQ on the financing and utilization of medical care in the United States.

NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse

Amazon Web Services is collaborating with theUS National Institutes of Health (NIH) STRIDES (Science and Technology Research Infrastructure for Discovery, Experimentation, and Sustainability) Initiativeto foster innovation in biomedical research using technological advancements on AWS.

Many of the same statistics you will find elsewhere, but clearly organized so sleuthing for a topic may be productive at this site. Note the "Health Data Tools & Statistics" link in the left column under topics.

The PCS is conducted every two years, and collects demographic, clinical, and service-related information for each person who receives a public mental health service during a specified one-week period.

News and analysis on healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and biotech industries. Includes policy and science developments. Content also includes cheat sheets, that provide an overview of different technologies.

This data set contains counts of AIDS (Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome) cases reported to CDC by state and local health departments from 1981+. Case counts can be retrieved by demographics, case-definition, date of diagnosis, date of report, HIV exposure group (risk factors), and mortality.

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention data and stats provided by topic

Public health statistics

Datasets, tools, and applications gathered from agencies across the Federal government

National and sub-national data on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections (STIs), infectious diseases, reproductive health and nutrition. Surveys have been conducted in 32 countries in Sub-Saharan Africa, 7 countries in North Africa/West Asia/Europe, 10 countries in South and Southeast Asia, and 13 countries in Latin America and the Caribean. Microdata are available free of charge by request.

Major statistical data sources on disability

EcoCyc is a scientific database for the bacterium Escherichia coli K-12 MG1655. The EcoCyc project performs literature-based curation of the entire genome, and of transcriptional regulation, transporters, and metabolic pathways.

Focuses on medical device and medical equipment industries. Includes information on pipeline and marketed technologies, clinical trials, market projections, and comprehensive sector reports.

The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a data catalog created and supported by The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington.

The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a data catalog created and supported by The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington.

A portal to data and analysis provided by the World Health Organization. Contains more than 50 data sets in 1000 health indicators from 194 WHO member countries. Browse the Reports for topics.

MIT Operations Research Center, led by Professor Dimitris Bertsimas. We aim to quickly develop and deliver tools for hospitals and policymakers in the US to combat the spread of COVID-19.

The Global Initiative on Sharing All Influenza Data provides data and statistics on influenza.

This platform is designed and maintained by scientists for scientists from various disciplines in influenza research, including veterinary and human virology, bioinformatics, epidemiology, immunology and clinical analysis etc.

Data from 219 countries and areas on the prevalence of HIV infection and AIDS cases and deaths.

NAHDAP acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research.

The National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA), located within ICPSR, is funded by the National Institute on Aging.

Public-use data files are prepared and disseminated to provide access to the full scope of the data. This allows researchers to manipulate the data in a format appropriate for their analyses. NCHS makes every effort to release data collected through its surveys and data systems in a timely manner.

ACHA conducts several surveys on a variety of issues in order to have accurate data about the health of college students. Explore below to see data from past surveys and to find out how you can participate.

The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Programhas collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than400 surveys in over 90 countries.