LibGuides: Newspapers & News: Historical Electronic Newspapers

Historical Electronic Newspapers (Primary Source)

19th Century US Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Access to 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century.
AAASS Newsnet Archive & CDPSP Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents of the Russian and Soviet press and the Current Digest of the Russian Press from 1949 to present. Site also includes historical Mexican, Chinese, and Middle Eastern/North African newspapers.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture, including Civil War materials and early African American newspapers.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection cover events at the local, regional, national and international level. This source includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Also includes news articles from 1970-1991, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives. (Primary source)
African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
African-American newspapers from the 19th century. Go to Collections to search for African-American newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
American newspapers published across three centuries. Includes thousands of titles from all 50 states. Historic newspapers 1690- recent past.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection of historical documents that include: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984; Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama and more.
Mountain People: Life and culture in Appalachia; America in Protest: Record of Anti-Vietnam War organizations, We Were Prepared for the possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961, American Relocation Camp Newspapers, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons, 1936-1945, Jewish Underground Resistance, Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress, Holocaust and Record of Concentration Camp Trials, Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis, Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis and more...
The Black Panther: Newspaper of the Black Panther Party This link opens in a new window
Twenty issues of the Black Panther Party newspaper from between 1968-1973.
Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historic Newspapers from around the country, 1789-1963
Elon University Student Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Includes the Elon Edge, The Campus Crier, Veritas Liberated Press, The Pendulum, Dimensions Today, Broadside Today, Maroon and Gold, and the Elon College Weekly from 1910-2012
Financial Times Historical Archives This link opens in a new window
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010 delivers the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through 2010. Includes advertising and marketing list.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search Gale newspaper archives in one single interface, includes 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Financial Times Historical Archive, and the
Times Digital Archive
Historical African American Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
Links to hundreds of newspapers that have been digitized, collected by our colleagues at Marist College.
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Obituaries. Photos. Access 575+ million pages. Articles. From the 1700's to 2000's. Great for history and genealogy research.
North Carolina Newspaper Locator This link opens in a new window
This database contains newspaper microfilm housed at the Government & Heritage Library.
It is not a complete list of all newspapers published in North Carolina. Can search by county, town and newspaper title.
North Carolina Newspapers Digital NC This link opens in a new window
This collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina.
North Carolina Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
The index provides access to articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics, including the arts, business, culture, history, law, natural resources, public policy, tourism, and travel.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Access to the archives of The New York Times (1851-2019)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Access to the archives of The Washington Post (1877-2007)
The Times Digital Archive (London) This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012. (Primary Source)