LibGuides: Biology Research: Databases + Research Articles

Biology Databases

To use from off-campus, click into any database to bring up your Elon log-in box.

BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.

Web of Science
Index and abstracts to the arts & humanities, the sciences and social sciences.

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer reviewed physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social science and humanities journals.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar indexes scholarly journals. Set a date range to see newer research. Notice "times cited" to find important, foundational papers on your topic.
PLOS
A collection of open access, peer-reviewed biology and medical journals. PLoS is a non-profit organization founded in 2000 with the goal of making scientific and medical literature freely accessible.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full-text journals and peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects. 1975 to present.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Authoritative review articles in 41 focused disciplines.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database is a complete collection of bibliographic references, covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Academic journals covering clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, and health administration.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, math, humanities and science. Some current issues are also available.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 11 million citations from Medline and additional life science journals.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Use Journal Finder to locate a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper.

OATD - Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
DART Europe
Search and download open-access dissertations from across Europe.

Request a Journal Article
Fill out this online form and click 'Submit' at the bottom. Journal articles you need will arrive in your email inbox. It''s free!