Business Research Librarian
Local History
- Belk Library Archives and Special CollectionsThe Alamance County, North Carolina collection includes documents and material pertaining to Alamance County, North Carolina from 1876 to present day.
- May Memorial Library Local History & Genealogy CollectionsHistory and genealogy resources for Alamance County and surrounding counties in North Carolina.
- Alamance Battleground State Historic SiteThe battle of Alamance in 1771 involved the Regulators and Governor Tryon's militia and stemmed from discontent from taxation and other collected monies.
- Glencoe Mill VillageAn 1880's mill village and community located along the Haw River.
- Historic Mills Along the Haw RiverLocations and histories of the old hydro-powered mills in the Haw River Watershed in North Carolina was compiled by Mark Chilton
- National Register of Historic PlacesHistoric places in Alamance County, North Carolina.
Historical Societies & Historical Collections
- Mebane Historical Society & MuseumArchives of the Town of Mebane.
Memorabilia collection of Milton McDade (1911-1991), including photographs and other items. - The Alamance GenealogistMagazine of the Alamance County Genealogical Society
1983 - 2010
Belk Library collections, Elon University
Online Collections
- A History of Alamance CountyEarliest history of Alamance County to it's current challenges.
- Textile Manufacturing IndustryHistorical textile manufacturing mills in Alamance County.
Historical Museums
The museum tells the history of textiles in Alamance County and includes among it's exhibits machinery, mill village life displays and a company store exhibit.
The museum is located at 2406 Glencoe Street, Burlington, North Carolina.
Alamance County Historical Museum
The former Holt Plantation home is now the Alamance County Historical Museum. There are period rooms with mid-nineteenth century furnishings and permanent exhibits and revolving exhibits featuring clothing, housewares and textiles, military items, Native American artifacts and transportation.
The museum is located at 4777 NC Highway 62 South, Burlington, North Carolina.
Haw River's textile industry and the town life of Haw River are represented in photographs and displays of artifacts.
The museum is located at 201 E. Main Street in Haw River, North Carolina.
Features historical artifacts and exhibits related to Graham and its history.
The museum is located 135 W. Elm Street in Graham, North Carolina.