Finding Statistics and Data Sets
Do you know the difference between statistics and data?
Data is the raw information from which statistics are created. It is usually gathered through studies or surveys. If you are interested in a phenomenon, or want to answer a "why" or "how" question, you want to use raw data, which in the form of machine-readable data files or datasets.
Statistics provide an interpretation and summary of data. If you want to know "how much," you probably want statistical data which usually is displayed in tables or charts and can be numbers or percentages.
Start with these library databases.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics, studies and reports from over 18,000 sources. Includes data from businesses, government departments, market research concerns or associations and more.
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowVisualization and data-mapping tool with thousands of data indicators across demography, economy, crime and more
-
PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowElon students, staff & faculty have access.
An easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US. Data is taken from more than 150 authoritative public and proprietary sources. -
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new windowFind data on the cost of living index, population by specific demographic groups, crime, income, and more. Data comes from various government groups, industry groups and associations, and private market research firms. The appendix contains a list of foreign statistical abstracts and contact information.
-
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowPublic opinion polls containing 350,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys in the U.S. and 80 other countries, 1986-present.
-
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. 1930- present. Available only to Elon students, faculty and staff
-
UNdata This link opens in a new windowa web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
-
The World Bank This link opens in a new windowProfiles of countries, covering economic, poverty, education and the environment. The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.
-
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series This link opens in a new windowIPUMS-International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census microdata from around the world. The project goals are to collect and preserve data and documentation, harmonize data, and disseminate the harmonized data free of charge.
-
QuickFactsQuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
-
General Social Survey This link opens in a new windowConducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations. You can explore the latest cumulative iteration of the GSS using interactive online data analysis software (see Data Analysis using SDA).
-
Pew Research Center Social TrendsSocial and Demographic Trends
-
World Values Survey This link opens in a new windowInvestigates political, social, economic, religious, and cultural thoughts, beliefs, and values in over 100 different countries. Data start in 1981 and continue to present day, with a new survey conducted once every 5 years.
-
Climate Data OnlineNCEI is the world’s largest provider of weather and climate data. Enter name of city, county, state, country or other geographic location. ZIP codes and FIPS identifiers are also valid.
-
American National Election Studies This link opens in a new windowContains data on voting, public opinion and political participation. Cumulative, time-series, panel and contextual data are available for download.
-
Comparative Political Data SetA collection of political and institutional country-level data provided by Prof. Dr. Klaus Armingeon and collaborators at the University of Berne. It consists of annual data for 36 democratic countries for the period of 1960 to 2015 or since their transition to democracy.
-
Key Statistics - Bureau of Justice StatisticsStatistics, data and charts for crime, victims and correction facilities and inmates.
-
FBI Uniform Crime Reporting ProgramStatistics from 1930 for use by law enforcement, researchers, criminal justice students, the media and the public.
Sites for retrieving U.S. and global health statistics are listed. Scroll down to see important public health organizations.
-
Global Health Observatory This link opens in a new windowA portal to data and analysis provided by the World Health Organization. Contains more than 50 data sets in 1000 health indicators from 194 WHO member countries. Browse the Reports for topics.
-
UNdata This link opens in a new windowa web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
-
Add Health DataThe Add Health study has collected data of interest to investigators from many disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences and from many theoretical traditions.
-
FastStats: Centers for Disease Control and PreventionStatistics on topics of public health importance; organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
-
CDC Reproductive Health StatisticsCDC's Division of Reproductive Health (DRH) monitors maternal and infant mortality, the most serious reproductive health complications. In addition, attention is focused on gathering data to better understand the extent of maternal and infant morbidity, adverse behaviors during pregnancy, and long-term consequences of pregnancy.
-
Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent HealthA project of the child and adolescent health measurement initiative.
-
Global Health Observatory This link opens in a new windowA portal to data and analysis provided by the World Health Organization. Contains more than 50 data sets in 1000 health indicators from 194 WHO member countries. Browse the Reports for topics.
-
Office of Minority HealthMinority health resources from the U.S Department of Health and Human Services
-
Population Reference Bureau This link opens in a new windowData are at the core of much of PRB's work to provide rigorous information and distill relevant insights and evidence from it. Access featured indicators, U.S. and international data resources, and the World Population Data Sheet site here.
-
FRED Economic DataDownload, graph, and track 418,000 US and international time series from 79 sources.
-
OECD StatsOECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
-
Data Portal - International Monetary Fund This link opens in a new windowData on IMF lending, exchange rates, trade statistics and other economic and financial indicators.
-
Survey of Income and Program ParticipationSIPP collects data and measures change for many topics including: economic well-being, family dynamics, education, assets, health insurance, childcare, and food security.
-
Panel Study of Income Dynamics This link opens in a new windowThe PSID was originally created to study the dynamics of income and poverty. Over the past five decades, the study has been expanded to collect information on health, wealth, expenditures, philanthropy, child development, the transition to adulthood, and much more.
-
Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)The mission of the OECD is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.
-
USDA Economic Research ServiceUSDA reports and data on many topics related to food and agriculture.
-
Data.GovHere you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more
-
FRED Economic DataDownload, graph, and track 418,000 US and international time series from 79 sources.
-
GeoCommonsGeoCommons is a community contributed collection of open data from around the world.
-
Harvard Dataverse NetworkFind and cite data across all research fields.
-
OECD StatsOECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
-
Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
-
UNDataUnited Nations data source all in one easy to use search engine.
-
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowThese are statistics from the US Census and Statistical Abstracts from 1790 to 1990 or later. This includes the population census, which includes information on housing, economic conditions and much more.
-
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowPublic opinion polls containing 350,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys in the U.S. and 80 other countries, 1986-present.
-
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. 1930- present. Available only to Elon students, faculty and staff