Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wellness and Health Education

Resources for WHE 230 and WHE 285

Science Writing

Writing an academic paper in the sciences -especially the health sciences- can be daunting. Moreover, for many undergraduates, this is a totally new experience with unfamiliar or unclear standards and expectations. If you find yourself struggling with the style or content of writing in the health sciences, these links might be helpful:

  • Science at the UNC Writing Center - This blog post covers some of the central pieces of effective science writing, with an emphasis on the "big three" competencies in science writing: precision, clarity, and objectivity. This is a great place to look if you are unsure of where to start!
  • University of Toronto Health Sciences Writing Centre - If you've covered the basics and you're seeking concrete tips and tools for improving your writing, try this all-in-one guide from the University of Toronto. They cover every phase of the writing process -from planning to publishing- and offer resources ranging from video tutorials to comprehensive style handbooks.

Assignment

Theory Annotated Bibliography (100 points) with a P

For this assignment, you are to identify peer-reviewed articles from the literature that exemplifies the model or theoretical framework assigned to you.

Part 1: you and your partner will each identify 4 peer reviewed articles from the literature (2008 or later). I should receive 8 different articles from you and your partner (consult each other before submitting). Articles DUE individually on Moodle 9/15

For each of your 4 articles you will write an article review identifying: the theory/model used, how it was used, results of the study, limitations of the study, and your opinion (based on critical thinking) on whether the theory was appropriately used for solving the problem. Each should be 4-8 sentences. Be concise, but thorough. Bibliography DUE 9/29

Examples of models and theories:

Intrapersonal theories (identify one)

  • Health Belief Model
  • Theory of Planned Behavior
  • Elaboration Likelihood Model of Persuasion
  • Information-Motivation-Behavioral Skills Model
  • Transtheoretical Model of Change
  • Precaution Adoption Process Model
  • Interpersonal theories (identify one)
  • Social Cognitive Theory
  • Social Network Theory
  • Social Capital Theory
  • Self Determination Theory
  • Ecological Model
  • Community Readiness Model
    • PRECEDE-PROCEED
    • MATCH
  • Intervention Mapping
    • CDCynergy
    • SMART
    • MAPP
    • Generalized Model

Planning models (identify one) 

Part 3: Present the information found in your articles as a team to the class, outlining the theory used, in a short and concise manner. This means you should have a good working knowledge of the theory to be able to explain the theory to classmates. You then explain how the theory was used differently/similarly in the articles. PPT DUE by NOON 10/7; Presentations 10/8, 10/13

Peer-Reviewed Sources

"Peer-reviewed" means these research articles were submitted to an academic or scholarly journal with an internal review process where independent examiners are given blind copies of articles to check for things including (but not limited to): accuracy, bias and bias-reduction efforts, methods and methodology, and data collection and analysis. For more information on what peer-review is and why it matters, check out our guide on academic research.

The databases listed here are your best-bets for finding scholarly research in the health sciences; however, these are only a few of our many resources! You can find a more complete list of available health sciences databases here

Citing and Writing

What is a citation? What do they do and why do they matter? What is the difference between all of these different citation styles? These are essential questions in not just the health sciences but all academic research! 

This is just the beginning though! Citations are a wide-reaching, nuanced topic, and properly using and formatting them presents even more challenges. Luckily, Belk Library has you covered: our citations guide can help you navigate the process, and if you need more help, you can always Ask a Librarian 

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is an easy way to search for scholarly literature. Search results include articles from Belk Library databases, Google Books, Open Educational Resources and more.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar off campus

First set your preferences to Elon University before you begin using Google Scholar so you can access the articles when you're away from campus:

  1. Go to the Google Scholar webpage http://scholar.google.com
  2. Click on the "hamburger" menu (3 vertical bars), then on Settings  Settings
  3. Click on "Library links"
  4. Search for "Elon University"
  5. Check the boxes next to "Elon University - Belk Library Elon University" and "ELON UNIVERSITY - ProQuest Fulltext"
  6. Search for "worldcat"
  7. Check the box next to "Open WorldCat - Library Search"
  8. The list of library links should now have checked boxes next to these three items:

Elon University Belk Library Elon University, Elon University ProQuest Fulltext, Open WorldCat Library Search

7. Click on "Save"