Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for topic brainstorming
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues.
-
CQ Researcher & Archives This link opens in a new windowEach single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
-
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowResearch the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
-
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowProvides a balance of materials from all viewpoints with main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Political Science databases
-
Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowA database of leading political science and international relations journals, full-text doctoral dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, and political news.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and index of international political science journals.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Coverage includes history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, humanities and social sciences. Some current issues are available now.
-
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowCIAO is the world's largest full-text online resource for political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, and country analysis.
International Relations Databases
-
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowCIAO is the world's largest full-text online resource for political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, and country analysis.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and index of international political science journals.
-
The World Factbook This link opens in a new windowThe World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community,
-
Foreign Law Guide Law Library This link opens in a new windowEssential information on primary and secondary sources of foreign law.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present.
-
U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009 This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community’s spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa.
-
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent news pertaining to all branches of the military, trade publications, and news weeklies.
-
Military Database This link opens in a new windowThis database covers topics across all government and military branches. It includes over 550 titles dating back to the early 1990's.
