Zines

"Brown Recluse Zine Distro was created to support + center zines written by queer and trans people of color; BRZD was born was born in the spirit of visibility + in the spirit of celebrating our cultures. Brown Recluse exists to strengthen our ties + highlight our intersectional, relatable experiences."

"An educational tool for frontline workers to engage with abolitionist practices in healthcare. The learning presented here is the labour of the authors to develop critical patient-centred practices, the wisdom and insights shared from mentors, and the lived experience of those interacting with healthcare while in custody or detention."

"We started Irrelevant Press in 2014 to make zines together and foster creative friendship."

The Jewish Zine Archive began in 2019 and is a physical & digital archive for zines made by writers & artists who identify as or with Jewishness and/or Judaism. (Be sure to follow their instagram to see the newest materials!)

An activist-based zine collective aiming to amplify, celebrate and share the voices of migrants of colour in Aotearoa (New Zealand).

"Nat. Brut’s (pr. nat broot) principal mission is to showcase the work of writers and artists who have been historically devalued or pigeonholed by art and literary institutions. We publish work that has been buried, ignored, and disappeared from public consciousness. Equally, we seek work that comes from artists’ buried, ignored, and disappeared impulses and practices—the risky, the exploratory, and the potentially ugly."

"To make all zines by people of color easy to find, distribute and share. POCZP is an experiment in activism and community through materiality. All donations support POCZP events and advocacy costs."

"Launched in 2009, Project NIA is an advocacy, organizing, popular education, research, and capacity-building center with the long-term goal of ending youth incarceration. We believe that several simultaneous approaches are necessary in order to develop and sustain community-based alternatives to the system of policing and incarceration. Our mission is to dramatically reduce the reliance on arrest, detention, and incarceration for addressing youth crime and to instead promote the use of restorative and transformative practices, a concept that relies on community-based alternatives."

"The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities."

"Silk Club is an organization for Austin-based self-identified Asian American women, non-binary, and genderqueer folks to collaborate on projects that celebrate our experience. It is a space committed to validating and empowering intersectional identities, building creative opportunities, and fostering connections between different Asian communities. Since its inception in January 2018, Silk Club has hosted and participated in a number of community events and programs in addition to creating and developing the QUIET! zine. "

"Survived & Punished (S&P) is a coalition of defense campaigns and grassroots groups committed to eradicating the criminalization of survivors of domestic and sexual violence and the culture of violence that contributes to it. The all-volunteer organization includes community organizers, survivor advocates, legal experts, and policy advocates including currently and formerly incarcerated survivors."

Jenna Freedman started the Zine Collection at Barnard College in the summer of 2003, and has since dedicated her career to collecting zines, helping us think about the ethics surrounding zine collecting, and has gathered together a ton of resources in this guide. Some particularly useful pages: list of zine libraries around the world, list of zine distros, and links to lots of scholarship on zines.

"Zines have long been a way for marginalized communities to record their stories and organize. Zine libraries are making sure those histories aren't forgotten." December 30, 2018.

A mostly up-to-date set of links to zine festivals in the United States. (Some of these are book fairs, but you might get lucky with some zines! Plus books are good too).

"The mission of the Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) is to establish a 'living history' archive of past and present queer zines and to encourage current and emerging zine publishers to continue to create. In curating such a unique aspect of culture, we value a collectivist approach that respects the diversity of experiences that fall under the heading 'queer.'"

Page created by zine librarians with lots of information on ethics of collecting zines and making them accessible, teaching with zines, events, and lots more. Includes the Zine Librarians Code of Ethics, which can be printed into a zine.

Great resource that links out to links to scholarship on zines.