Librarian
Office Hours:
Carlton Commons, Wednesdays 12-1
UNICEF France video about child labor in Africa
- Il doit faire travailler ses enfantsAn interview with a man in Africa whose children all work breaking rocks instead of going to school.
Sadly, you can look up "travail des enfants" on YouTube and see many more heartbreaking first-hand stories.
Two articles about "L’école perdue"
There are VERY few articles written specifically about L’école perdue. Only recently has children's literature been recognized as deserving of scholarly research, and more in English-speaking academia. Since L’école perdue is not available in translation (like Harry Potter, for example) that has limited who can write about it.
La transmission des valeurs dans les romans pour la jeunesse sur l’Afrique subsaharienne (France, Allemagne, 1991-2010) - a thesis by Elodie Malanda. This paper looks at how French and German children's literature portrays Africa.
Tahar Ben Jelloun : hybridite et strategies de dialogue dans la prose publiee apres l'an 2000 - by Magdalena Zdrada-Cok. This book examines all of Tahar Ben Jelloun's recent work, and is unusual for including a mention of L’école perdue (p.86-88).
Bienvenue!
This guide will help you with your FRE 3050 final paper.
Book cover (amazon.com)
Please email, IM, or come see me if you have any questions. My office is Belk Library 218, located on the 2nd floor of Belk Library,
all the way at the end down by the bathrooms.
Search for information
Search Belk Library's online system to find both library materials and articles in our databases. Use the search box below to do a basic search on library materials and databases.
Google Scholar French
You're probably familiar with Google Scholar, a way to search only scholarly resources in Google. But did you know it came in a French-only version? Remember to enter your search terms in French: for example, not "child labor" but "travail des enfants".
Literary Databases
There are not going to be articles specifically about "L'ecole perdue." But you can search for articles in these databases about
- Tahar Ben Jelloun - authors often explore similar themes using similar techniques in all their works
- How themes are explored by other writers - child labor in children's literature
- Specific literary techniques - like narration, imagery, symbolism
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndex to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, 1963-present.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowIs a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Includes books and journals.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowLiterature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world.
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowFeatures hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Coverage includes history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, humanities and social sciences. Some current issues are available now.
Context Databases
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. 1963-
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowEconLit includes: peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers, PhD Dissertations, books and book reviews, collective volume articles. The database is professionally classified, updated weekly, and includes over 1.6 million records. EconLit covers economics literature published over the last 130 years from leading institutions in 74 countries.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present.
Statistics on Child Labor and Education
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics, studies and reports from over 18,000 sources. Includes data from businesses, government departments, market research concerns or associations and more.
- International Labour Organization Child Labour pageThe ILO monitors issues affecting workers around the world. Really detailed statistics in the reports (pdf links on right.)
- UNICEF Child Labor pageUNICEF is the United Nations' branch which deals with issues pertaining to children, including child labor.
- Education in AfricaThis page from UNESCO has statistics specifically about education in Africa. You can click the "francais" button at the top to read in French!
- Africa, education, and the 2018 World Development ReportThis brief from the Brookings Institute highlights some major issues in the World Bank's 2018 report on education in Africa. The information about teachers and their challenges is interesting! The report is below, and is available in English AND French.
- LEARNING to Realize Education’s PromiseThe World Bank's 2018 report on education. Links give you the French as well as English versions. Also has information about teachers and their challenges.
- 2018 Annual Report for Every Child in West and Central AfricaUNICEF's annual report. Goal 2 of the report involves education, and there are statistics in the "Opportunity is now" section. Also avaiable in French!
- UNESCO's Education Progress WebsiteSo cool! Active charts and graphs that you can add countries to. I suggest using some sub-Saharan countries (Senegal, Cote D'Ivoire, Burkino Faso). Also available in French!