Make an Appointment with Shannon
Reference
Countries and Their Cultures
Call Number: eBookPresents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison.
Countries, Peoples and Cultures (Complete Nine Volume Set)Publication Date: 2015Provides valuable insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe.
- Credo This link opens in a new windowCredo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
The Savvy Business Traveler's Guide to Customs and Practices in Other CountriesCountry-specific information about business customs and protocol in fifty nations worldwide.
- CIA World FactbookGood basic statistics about economy, demographics, and geography.
Search for information
Search Belk Library's online system to find both library materials and articles in our databases. Use the search box below to do a basic search on library materials and databases.
Background Articles - Historical, Political, Cultural
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and index of international political science journals.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. 1963-
- SocINDEX w/Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. The database features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
Data
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics, studies and reports from over 18,000 sources. Includes data from businesses, government departments, market research concerns or associations and more.
OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) -- The OECD collects and analyses data and makes recommendations to improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world. Use the "Countries" drop down menu.
United Nations Statistics Division -- The UN collects statistics for every nation, with particular focus on health, gender, and economic development indicators. Put the name of a country in the data search box at the top right and click "go".
UNESCO -- UNESCO is the United Nation's Education, Scientific, and Cultural group. The webpage is also available in Spanish if you click at the top left. Search your country under the "Countries" dropdown menu.
ITU -- The Telecommunication Development Sector is a specialized branch of the UN working on communication and internet. They collect statistics on key connectivity indicators for 200 countries.
NCES -- The National Center for Education Statistics in the U.S. also publishes comparative reports with other nations. Includes access to the PISA data (Programme for International Student Assessment, conducted by the OECD.)
Pew Research Center Global Attitudes & Trends -- Pew not only does excellent reporting on statistics and public opinion in the US but they also survey people from all over the world about global issues. Search your country in the box.
CEPR -- Center for Economic and Policy Research has op-eds as well as reports and data about economic and social issues.