Interactive Media

Citing a source means that you show, within the body of your text, that you took words, ideas, figures, images, etc. from another place.

Citations are a short way to uniquely identify a published work (e.g. book, article, chapter, web site).  They are found in bibliographies and reference lists and are also collected in article and book databases. 

Because there is no one standard citation style used at Elon:

• Ask your professor which style they prefer for the course
• Consult a style guide (like Purdue OWL) for examples of using various citation styles to create in-text citations, bibliographies and reference lists, or use citation software (like Zotero) to assist you in tracking sources used and building in-text citations and bibliographies.
• Use a standard style, such as APA, and be consistent with it throughout your paper.

AVOID PLAGIARISM!

Zotero is a free citation management system. Because it’s not subscription based, you can take it with you anywhere you go.

• It’s very easy to use.
• It was developed by scholars at George Mason University for use by scholars.

 What Can Zotero Do?

• Zotero looks for and gathers citations on any page you are searching incuding books, articles, videos, audio clips and more from databases,the Belk Library catalog, and websites (like Amazon).
• Organizes your citations into research collections (like an iTunes library).
• Saves PDF’s, notes, images and tags to citations and is completely searchable.
• Creates in-text citations and bibliographies in over 1900 styles.
• Allows you to collaborate remotely with colleagues and students to share your own work and other sources.

Download Zotero here. If you need help, you can always contact a librarian!