Use Google Scholar off campus
First set your preferences to Elon University before you begin using Google Scholar so you can access the articles when you're away from campus:
- Go to the Google Scholar webpage http://scholar.google.com
- Click on the "hamburger" menu (3 vertical bars), then on Settings
- Click on "Library links"
- Search for "Elon University"
- Check the boxes next to "Elon University - Belk Library Elon University" and "ELON UNIVERSITY - ProQuest Fulltext"
- Search for "worldcat"
- Check the box next to "Open WorldCat - Library Search"
- The list of library links should now have checked boxes next to these three items:
7. Click on "Save"
Marketing and Consumer Info
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new windowThe collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals. Country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.. 1971-present
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new windowConduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more. Coverage 1986- current.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly and peer-reviewed publications, magazines on a wide range of topics including: marketing, management, company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more
- Entrepreneurship Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text database about entrepreneurship. Includes video clips, market research reports, start-up plans, templates, and forms, scholarly journals, business cases, working papers, conference proceedings, and dissertations.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowPassport contains data on more that 190 countries. Find data on consumer market sizes, consumer expenditures, population characteristics, national characteristics, and more. Often includes forecast as well as historical data.
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new windowConduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more. Coverage 1986- current.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly and peer-reviewed publications, magazines on a wide range of topics including: marketing, management, company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowCorporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies. Includes Up to 25 years of financial data, 10 years of full-image annual reports, SEC filings, corporate history, subsidiaries, key employees, properties, and long term debt.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowA directory public and private companies including over 30 million U.S.companies, 89 million U.S. residences, and 850,000 physicians and dentists.
- Claritas360Discover the top consumer segments that live in your ZIP Code and uncover a brief snapshot about each segment's demographic and lifestyle characteristics.
- Consumer Expenditure Survey This link opens in a new windowContains two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of America's consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowPassport contains data on more that 190 countries. Find data on consumer market sizes, consumer expenditures, population characteristics, national characteristics, and more. Often includes forecast as well as historical data.
- Patchwork NationPatchwork Nation is a demographic/geographic breakdown of the nation into 12 different kinds of communities.
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new windowThe collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals. Country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.. 1971-present
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly and peer-reviewed publications, magazines on a wide range of topics including: marketing, management, company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more
- First Research Industry Reports Dun & Bradstreet This link opens in a new windowFirst Research industry reports and Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports are here.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, and up-to-date research on over 700 industries, including statistics, analysis, and forecasts. 1999 - present
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowCovers 14 consumer categories with a concentration of business to consumer markets. Mintel provides brand share, market size and forecast as well as company profiles. With in-depth coverage of consumer insights covering a wide range of demographic profiles you'll learn what the consumer base is and why they choose one product over the next.
- Consumer Expenditure SurveysContains two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of America's consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowPublic opinion polls containing 350,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys in the U.S. and 80 other countries, 1986-present.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchArchives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. 1930- present
- Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new windowThe Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the federal government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other federal agencies, state and local governments, business, and labor.
- Google Trends This link opens in a new windowSee the latest trends and data from Google. Visualize the search terms consumers are searching for.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowThese are statistics from the US Census and Statistical Abstracts from 1790 to 1990 or later. This includes the population census, which includes information on housing, economic conditions and much more.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, and up-to-date research on over 700 industries, including statistics, analysis, and forecasts. 1999 - present
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics, studies and reports from over 18,000 sources. Includes data from businesses, government departments, market research concerns or associations and more.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new windowFind data on the cost of living index, population by specific demographic groups, crime, income, and more. Data comes from various government groups, industry groups and associations, and private market research firms. The appendix contains a list of foreign statistical abstracts and contact information.
- US Census Bureau This link opens in a new windowData.census.gov is the data dissemination platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Online News
- BBC News -News from around the world reported by the BBC
- CNN Interactive - current news stories reported by CNN
- C-SPAN - provides public access to the political process
- C-SPAN's CapitalNews - the latest updates from Capitol Hill, the White House and National Politics
- Fox News - the leading US conservative news network
- History News Service - an informal syndicate of professional historians who seek to improve the public's understanding of current events by setting these events in their historical contexts
- National Public Radio - international and national news
- NewsLibrary.com - old newspapers articles
- NewsLinks - provides access to home pages of magazines, newspapers, and radio and televison stations
- NewsWatch - consumer's guide to news; nonpartisan analysis of the media
- Public Agenda Online - nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education
- Radio Stations on the Internet - links to over 800 stations worldwide; many stations broadcast over the internet
- Stratfor.com - this private intelligence company presents news and commentary on political, social, military, and economic trends worldwide
- Total News - create your own "personal edition" news; links to major news sources, plus a search engine
- U-Wire - a daily college media newswire produced by students, includes contributions from student publications.also contains CopyBoy, an online story archive
New York Times Digital Access
Elon provides digital access to the New York Times to all Elon students, staff, and faculty.
It's easy to sign up:
- Create a free account at NYTimes.com/PassUse your elon.edu email address when you create your account
Streaming Videos Collections
- Belk Archives Audio and Video CollectionThis collection includes access to digitized audio and video content from the Archives and Special Collections. The content includes (but is not limited to) footage and audio content of campus-wide events, cultural events, faculty and students in classrooms, oral histories, and other notable events that have been recorded and pertain to Elon University history.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowOver 68,000 titles spanning a wide range of subjects: anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. AVON includes a variety of video material with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage.
- Credo This link opens in a new windowCredo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
- Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowContains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance and more.
- Docuseek This link opens in a new windowDocuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films to colleges and universities, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution, including Bullfrog, Icarus, and First Run Features. NOTE: Films will only be available by faculty/staff request. Click here to order a Docuseek video that we don't have access to already.
- Films on Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new windowThousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowFor off campus access, please sign in with your Elon username and password.
Large collection of video documentaries and movies from many producers covering many subjects; pop culture, nursing, public health, lgbt issues, social sciences, sciences, political science and events, the arts, global studies, education, etc. NOTE: Kanopy has changed to mediated access and films will only be available by faculty/staff request. Click here to order Kanopy Streaming Videos that we don't have access to already.