Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to the HST 3570 Research Guide, America's Civil War.
On this guide I have recommended ways for you to find information resources, such as:
- background information to help you learn about a subject when you're beginning your research
- materials in Belk Library's catalog
- newspaper and scholarly journal articles in databases
- primary sources
Please let me know if you have questions; either chat with me by using the blue "Ask Me Now!" button on the left side of the page or email me below.
General Online Reference Sources
- Credo This link opens in a new windowCredo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. Titles cover a wide range of humanities, social science, performing arts, and general reference subjects.
Background Information
REF. in front of a call number indicates that the book is housed in Belk Library's reference collection on the first floor.
The Civil War Era and Reconstruction by Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780765682574Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by Call Number: REF 973.703 H363en v. 1-5ISBN: 9781576070666Publication Date: 2000
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Civil War by Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780199782017Publication Date: 2011
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Civil War Era Biographies by Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780415878036Publication Date: 2012
Women During the Civil War by Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780415937238Publication Date: 2003
