Librarian
Search for information
Search Belk Library's online system to find both library materials and articles in our databases. Use the search box below to do a basic search on library materials and databases.
General Databases
Belk Library has access to many different databases, which in turn give you access to thousands of full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. The database that you will want to use depends on your research topic. Some databases are very specialized--for examples, a database might be devoted to just articles from journals of world history. Other databases cover many different subjects. Here are some examples that might be good places to start your research:
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive news collection cover events at the local, regional, national and international level. This source includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Also includes news articles from 1970-1991, including firsthand reports and varying regional perspectives. (Primary source)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly full-text journals and peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects. 1975 to present.
- Congressional Publications This link opens in a new windowFull range of legislative and public policy resources. Includes the Congressional Serial Set. 1789 - present.
- CQ Researcher & Archives This link opens in a new windowEach single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowArticles from historical journals, covering world history from 1450 to the present.
- Military and Govenrment CollectionArticles about the government and political affairs, as well as international situations.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowProvides a balance of materials from all viewpoints with main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowPublic opinion polls containing 350,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys in the U.S. and 80 other countries, 1986-present.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text of 250 journals covering the humanities and social sciences.
- Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowGeneral reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
English Subject Databases
- ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowTopics covered include literary criticism, American history and culture, geography and world cultures, military history, popular culture, race and ethnicity, religion, science, security studies, the arts, women's studies, and world history.
- African-American Poetry This link opens in a new windowPoems written by African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries, 1750-1900.
- American Poetry This link opens in a new windowAmerican poems from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century, 1600-1900.
- CompPileInventory of publications in writing studies, including post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse analysis.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowDigital images of books printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
- English Poetry This link opens in a new windowThe complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th century.
- Faber Poetry Library This link opens in a new windowPoems by 50 of the most influential poets of the 20th century.
- Films on Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new windowThousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
- Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new windowIt combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Coverage includes history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, humanities and social sciences. Some current issues are available now.
- Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowRelevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowComprehensive and reliable online literature database. Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revisions, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism and other Gale sources.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndex to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, 1963-present.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowComprehensive dictionary of the English language.
- Twentieth Century African-American Poetry This link opens in a new windowPoems by 62 of the most important and influential African-American poets of the Twentieth century.
- Twentieth Century American Poetry This link opens in a new windowModern and contemporary American poems by poets from the Twentieth century.
- Twentieth Century English Poetry This link opens in a new windowPoems by English poets of the Twentieth century.