This is the "Newspapers" page of the "Newspaper Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Electronic and Print Newspapers from around the world. Historical and Local Newspapers
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2012 URL: http://elon.libguides.com/newspapers Print Guide RSS Updates

Newspapers Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Journal Finder

0-9  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z  Other

Use Journal Finder to find full text journals and newspapers that Belk Library has access to.

News & Observer Index, 1926-1992

  • News & Observer Index  
      
    The N&O Index is an alphabetical list of names and subjects, with references to the newspaper articles in which they occur.
 

  ProQuest Historical Newspapers

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:
Historical Christian Science Monitor (1908-1967), Historical New York Times (1851-2007), Historical Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), Historical Washington Post (1877-1994)

Digital Microfilm

Belk Library now offers digital microfilm from 2008 forward at this link http://digitalmicrofilm.proquest.com/digmweb/digm/do/digm for the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Raleigh News and Observer.  Digital film offers campus-wide  and off-site access, and provides full-page view to all newspaper content.

 

Print Newspapers in Belk Library

 Print Newspapers

Advertising Age

Alamance News (Graham, NC)

Barrons

Carolina Peacemaker (Greensboro, NC)

Catholic Worker

Charlotte Observer (Charlotte, NC)

Christian Science Monitor

Computerworld

Education Week

Guardian Weekly (London, UK)

Independent Weekly (Durham, NC)

New York Times

News And Observer (Raleigh, NC)

News And Record (Greensboro, NC)

Pendulum (Elon University)

Southern City

Sportsbusiness Journal

Sunday Times (London, UK)

Times News (Burlington, NC)

USA Today

Village Voice (NY, NY)

Wall Street Journal

Washington Post (Washington, DC)

  


 

Historical Print Newspapers

 HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS IN BELK LIBRARY
(These are usually on microfilm)

Alamance Gleaner (Graham, Alamance County, NC)
1875 - 1947

American Weekly Mercury (Philadelphia, PA)
1719-1746

Anglo-Saxon (Rockingham, NC)
1900 - 1903

Aurora General Advertiser (Philadelphia, PA)
1794

Baltimore Patriot (Baltimore, MD)
(Includes Evening Advertiser and Mercantile Advertiser)
1812-1830

Battleboro Advance (Battleboro, NC)
(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1871 - 1873

Battleboro Progress (Battleboro, NC)
(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1880

Berea Gazette (Berea, NC)
(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1877-1878

Boston Chronicle (Boston, MA)
Includes Massachusetts Spy (1770-1772) and Censor (1771-1772)
1767 - 1770

Boston Evening Post (Boston, MA)
Includes Boston Post-Boy (1735-1775)
1735 - 1775

Boston Gazette (Boston, MA)
1719-1798

Boston News-Letter (Boston, MA)
1704-1776)

Boston Patriot (Boston, MA)
1809-1820

Brevard Hustler (Brevard, Transylvania County, NC)
(film is labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1896

Burlington Daily Times News (Burlington, NC)
1923-1970

Burlington Journal (Burlington, NC)
1923

Carolina Federal Republican (New Bern, NC)
1809-1813

Chicago Defender (Chicago, IL)
1909-1929

Christian Sun (Elon College, NC)
1844 - 1965

Columbian Centinel (Boston, MA)
1790-1820

Connecticut Courant (Hartford, CT)
1764-1837

Connecticut Gazette (New London, CT)
1763-1820

Daily National Intelligencer (Washington, DC)
1813-1820

Daily Times News
1971 - 1988

Eagle (Maysville, KY)
(microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles")
1818-1819

Eastern Argus (Portland, ME)
1803-1832

Enquirer (Richmond, VA)
1804-1820

Federal Republican (Georgetown, DC)
1812-1816

Globe (Richmond, KY)
1809-1810

Hillsborough Recorder (Hillsborough, NC)
(microfilm reel includes Durham Recorder)
1820 - 1878

Kentucky Journal (Frankfort, KY)
(microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles")
1795

Massachusetts Spy (Worchester, MA)
1775-1820

Mountain Voice (Bakersville, NC)
(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1880

Nation (Buffalo Springs, NC)
(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1858

National Intelligencer (Washington, DC)
1800-1812

New England Courant (Boston, MA)
1721-1727
Includes Weekly Rehearsal (1731-1735)

New Hampshire Gazette (Portsmouth, NH)
Includes Freeman's Journal (1776-1778)
1756-1831

Newport Mercury (Newport, RI)
1758-1842

News & Observer (Raliegh, NC
1987 - 2010

New York Gazette and Weekly Mercury (New York, NY)
1768-1783

New York Gazette or Weekly Post Boy (New York, NY)
1747-1750
1757-1758
1767-1768

New York Gazette revived in the Weekly Post Boy (New York, NY)
1751-1752

New York Herald (New York, NY)
1802-1817

New York Journal or General Advertiser (New York, NY)
1766-1772

New York Mercury (New York, NY)
1752-1768

North Carolina Gazette (New Bern, NC)
1751 - 1778

North Carolina Gazette, or Impartial Intelligencer, and Weekly General Advertiser
1783-1798

North Carolina National (Company Shops, NC)
(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1882

Our Home (Beaver Dam, NC)
(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1893

People's Friend (Danville, KY)
(microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles")
1818-1819

People's Press (Salem, NC)
1852-1882

Political Theatre (Lancaster, KY)
(microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles")
1808-1810

Porcupine's Gazette (Philadelphia, PA)
1797 - 1800

Republican Auxiliary (Washington, KY)
(microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles")
1806-1810

Richmond Enquirer (Richmond, VA)
1821 - 1834

Rivington's New York Gazetteer (New York, NY)
1773-1775

Rivington's New York Gazette (New York, NY)
1777-1783

Rivington's New York Loyal Gazette (New York, NY)
1777

Roan Mountain Republican (Bakersville, NC)
(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1876 - 1879

Royal Gazette (New York, NY)
1777-1783

Salem Gazette (Salem, MA)
1790-1833

Salem Mercury (Salem, MA)
1786-1789

South Carolina Gazette
1732 - 1782

Southern Voice (Bethel, Pitt County, NC)
(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1890

Telegraph (Georgetown, KY)
(microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles")
1811-1813

Times News
1989 - current

Transylvania Hustler (Brevard, Transylvania, County, NC)
(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1893

Union (Washington, KY)
(microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles")
1814-1820

Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, VA)
1736 - 1781

Weekly Messenger (Russellville, KY)
(microfilm labeled "Kentucky miscellaneous titles")
1814-1821

Western North Carolina Democrat (Bakersville, NC)
(microfilm labeled "Miscellaneous North Carolina newspapers")
1888

  


Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Jamane Yeager
Chat is currently unavailable. Please email me at
jyeager@elon.edu
with your questions.
Contact Info
Phone: (336)278-6576
Office: Belk 108
IM:jamanelib
Send Email
  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip