This is the "Start here" page of the "Music Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Research Guide   Tags: music, music_production, recording_arts  

A guide for researchers interested in music, music production and recording arts
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2014 URL: http://elon.libguides.com/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Start here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Get background information

Gather background information to learn about your topic by using encyclopedias and other reference materials. A few suggestions are listed below.

Cover Art
Oxford Music Online
Online access to
* The Encyclopedia of Popular Music
* The Oxford Dictionary of Music
* Grove Music Online - The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
* The Oxford Companion to Music

Cover Art
The Harvard Dictionary of Music
Call Number: REF. 780.3 H261ra

Cover Art
The Garland encyclopedia of world music
Call Number: REF. 780.9 G183 v.1-10

Cover Art
Oxford History of Western Music
Call Number: REF. 780.9 T179ox v.1-6

Cover Art
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History
Call Number: REF. 781.6603 G856 v.1-6

Cover Art
The Oxford encyclopaedia of the music of India
Call Number: REF. 780.954 Ox2gh v.1-3

Off-campus access

You can access the databases from off-campus with Elon's VPN service. Use the link below and select the WebVPN Group.

  • Off-campus access
    Log in with your Elon user name and password to access Belk Library's online resources from off-campus.

Librarian

Profile Image
Lynne Bisko
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please email me at lbisko@elon.eduu with your questions.
Contact Info
Carol Grotnes Belk Library 225A
2550 Campus Box
Elon, NC 27244
Phone: (336) 278-6587
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip