Business Research Librarian
Betty Garrison
she/her/hers
About Non-Profits & Charities
All American non-profits and charities are required to annually submit financial statments on the IRS Form 990. Non-profits are required to allow the public to inspect these records during regular business hours. Many organizations will post these forms on their website.
You can frequently search for the name of the organization and Form 990 and find the form. Or you might try searching for the name of the organization and "annual report."
The Candid and GuideStar provide access to these forms.
Also, written requests to the IRS can be directed to:
Commissioner of Internal Revenue
Attn: Freedom of Information Reading Room
1111 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20224
Non-Profits Directories
- GuideStarGathers and publicizes information about nonprofit organizations. FREE - REQUIRES REGISTRATION
- CANDID (formerly The Foundation Center)Primarily a U.S. and world grant directory, The Foundation Center also provides access to non-profit 990 filings and annual Foundation Center reports on the state of philanthropy.
- Citizen Audit (paid)10 years of disclosures for every charity in America.
- Charity NavigatorEvaluates charities in the United States.
- IdealistA Directory of over 77,000 nonprofits and volunteer organizations worldwide.
- BBB Charity Reports IndexProfiles of charities/nonprofits, including financials and contact information.
Articles from Journals/Magazines
- Greensboro News & RecordA daily newspaper that serves the Piedmont Triad, and provides national and local news, sports, features and opinion for the counties of Guilford, Randolph, Rockingham, Davidson, Almance and Forsyth. 1990-2018
- ERICArticles on education topics
- ProQuest Research LibraryArticles from a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly full-text journals and peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects. 1975 to present.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly and peer-reviewed publications, magazines on a wide range of topics including: marketing, management, company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more
- SocINDEX w/Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. The database features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
Journal Finder
Use Journal Finder to locate a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper.