Business Research Librarian
Betty Garrison
she/her/hers
Consumer Behavior
Consumer Behavior & Attitudes -
Consumer habits, trends, and data.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowCovers 14 consumer categories with a concentration of business to consumer markets. Mintel provides brand share, market size and forecast as well as company profiles. With in-depth coverage of consumer insights covering a wide range of demographic profiles you'll learn what the consumer base is and why they choose one product over the next.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowPassport contains data on more that 190 countries. Find data on consumer market sizes, consumer expenditures, population characteristics, national characteristics, and more. Often includes forecast as well as historical data.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of academic journals, newspapers, and dissertations covering a wide range of subjects.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowIndex to journals in psychology and related disciplines, 1887-present.
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new windowThe collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals. Country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.. 1971-present
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly and peer-reviewed publications, magazines on a wide range of topics including: marketing, management, company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. 1963-
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowScholarly peer reviewed physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social science and humanities journals.
Consumer Demographics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for YOUR COUNTRY and LIFESTYLE or CONSUMERS or PRODUCT/MARKET
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowElon students, staff & faculty have access.
An easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US. Data is taken from more than 150 authoritative public and proprietary sources.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S.Statistics on social and economic conditions in the U.S. Includes consumer expenditures.
Consumer Trends
What are the latest consumer trends? Who's buying what? How are consumers making purchase decisions now and what motivates them. Find out using these resources.
- Facebook Audience InsightsAggregate information about Facebook users and facebook pages. This information helps to understand trends, hobbies, lifestyles and consumer demographics.
- Consumer Barometer with GoogleInformation on Millennial consumers, brand advocates, digital moms, and other online consumers.
- American Time Use SurveyMeasures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
- Pew Research CenterDiscover statistics and reports about how the U.S. how Americans use the Internet, use technology, social trends, religion, and how they consumer media and news.
Consumer Psychographics
Psychographic information might be a buyer's habits, hobbies, spending habits and values.
- Claritas PrizmAnalyzes American society through consumer market segmentation by zip code.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchArchives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. 1930- present