Librarian
Office Hours:
Carlton Commons, Wednesdays 12-1
Bienvenue!
This guide will help you with your FRE 326 annotated bibliography and paper.
Please email or come see me if you have any questions. Use the box on the right to email me or make an appointment!
Search for information
Search Belk Library's online system to find both library materials and articles in our databases. Use the search box below to do a basic search on library materials and databases.
Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndex to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, 1963-present.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowIs a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Includes books and journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Coverage includes history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, humanities and social sciences. Some current issues are available now.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. 1963-
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowIndex to journals in psychology and related disciplines, 1887-present.
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowType "Cameroon" into the search box and find articles about trends in food consumption.
Google Scholar French
You're probably familiar with Google Scholar, a way to search only scholarly resources in Google. But did you know it came in a French-only version? Remember to enter your search terms in French: for example, not "child labor" but "travail des enfants".
Encyclopedias of Food and Culture
You may not know much about the food or culture of West Africa generally, or Cameroon specifically. Try these resources for background information:
Encyclopedia of Food and CultureCall Number: REF 394.1203 En19ka or ONLINENo article for Cameroon, but read the one for West Africa.Countries and Their Cultures
Call Number: ONLINEArticle on Cameroon includes food ways as well as information on courtship, gender roles, etc.
