Citation style guides for Dance
The most often used citation styles for Dance are MLA Handbook for Writers and the Chicago Manual of Style, both of which are located at the library service desk. For more assistance, please consult a librarian or your professor.
Two good resources are:
- MLA Formatting and Style GuideFrom Purdue University; includes examples of many different sources
ZoteroBib: the quickest way to build an accurate bib
Zotero now has a quick and accurate tool to create a bibliography entry!
- go to https://zbib.org/
- enter a URL (website), ISBN (book), DOI (online article), PMID (PubMed), arXiv ID (author), or title
- click on the Cite button
- select a Bibliography style
- copy to clipboard to paste into your document
- formatted citations are stored in your browser until you delete them
Writing about Dance
Writing about DanceCall Number: 808.066792 OL4wr
Before, Between, and Beyond: three decades of dance writingCall Number: 792.845 B223be
How to cite images
Visual sources can be difficult to cite, so be sure to 1) include as much information as you can, 2) format the elements consistently, and 3) adapt the general formats as described in published citation style guides as needed. If you have questions, please contact me.
Citing images from an image database, such as ARTstor, should include most, if not all, of this information (or as much of it as can be easily determined from the source).
- creator's name
- title of the image as given in the database
- date of creation
- name and location of the institution that houses the image (if any)
- dimensions (if known)
- material or format (painting, sculpture, photograph, etc.)
- database name and URL
- date accessed the database
- How do I cite an image?CMOS shop talk (blog) from The Chicago Manual of Style
- Citing Images in Chicago StyleExamples from Dickinson College, PA
- How to cite images (University of Cincinnati)Examples for MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago Manual of Style
- How to cite images (Purdue Online Writing Lab)MLA examples of how to cite a painting, sculpture, or photograph (about half way down the page)
- Citing image sources (Artstor)Examples of how to cite images, including a museum object, a database and a website; from Artstor
Zotero Citation Manager
The zotero Citation Manager is a free, easy to use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
Follow these steps to start building your own Zotero Library:
- Download ZoteroDownload both 1) the Zotero program (left side of the page) and 2) the connector/extension for your browser you are using
- Register for a free Zotero accountRegistering a user account lets you sync your library so you can access it on different computers
You can also collaborate and share Zotero libraries with others - Add items to your Zotero LibrarySave articles, books, websites, and more with just one click
- Zotero video trainingStep-by-step instruction videos on how to set up Zotero
Writing Center
The Writing Center offers online, real-time appointments. Students can make appointments as usual via http://elon.mywconline.com and meet with a consultant via video and text chat. Appointments will be available during the usual hours and all appointments will be scheduled for eastern standard time. For more information: https://www.elon.edu/u/academics/writing-excellence/the-writing-center/.
Elon's Writing Center will help you understand an assignment, as well as brainstorm, draft, revise, edit & document sources.
- Schedule an appointment at the Writing CenterYou can pick the day, time, duration and the WC consultant
- Writing Center websiteVisit the WC website for current hours and locations