This is the "United States" page of the "Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Information  

This government information research guide contains helpful information about federal, international, and state government information resources.
Last Updated: Jul 9, 2014 URL: http://elon.libguides.com/government Print Guide RSS Updates

United States Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Belk Catalog for Federal Government Information

Belk Library is a respository for Federal Government Documents and many documents are available by searching the library catalog.

Belk Library's collection is mostly available electronically.  Paper documents located in the "Belk Federal Documents" section are located on the second floor of Belk Library near office number 213.

 

Search MetaLib

Search MetaLib, a service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP).

MetaLib searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and selected resources available online. 

 

Search USA.gov

Search USA.gov.  The Federal Government's main portal for government information on the web.

 

Search FDSys

FDSys
FDSys provides online access to publications from all three branches of the federal government such as the Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Documents, the United States Code, and the Federal Register

 

Federal Government Information

The three branches of the federal government:

Legislative Branch Information
The law making branch of the federal government. It includes Congress and agencies that support Congress.

Executive Branch Information
The executive branch of the federal government includes the president, vice president, department heads (cabinet members), and heads of independent agencies.

Judicial Branch Information
Supreme Court and Federal Courts

Federal Government Data

Federal Government data resources such as the U.S. Census can be found on the U.S. Census and Other Data Tab

 

Legislative Information

Legislative Branch Information from USA.gov
Links and and iformation about the Legislative Branch of the Federal Government

Proquest Congressional
The main database for researching Congressional publications including hearings, bill text, legislative histories, voting records, congressional calendars, current topics and more.

FDSys
FDSys is the official database of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides online access to publications from all three branches of the Federal Government such as the Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Documents, the United States Code and the Federal Register

How a Bill Becomes a Law
A flow chart with definitions of how a bill becomes a law provided by Lexis Nexis.

Congress.gov
Congress.gov provides information about the Congress of the United States

Senate
Official website of the United States Senate

House of Representatives
Official website of the United States House of Representatives

CQ Weekly
Nonpartisan news and analysis of congressional activities.  Online archive available from 1983 - present.

 

Executive Information

Executive Branch from USA.gov
Information about all of the offices in the Executive Branch.

FDSys
FDSys is the official database of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides online access to publications from all three branches of the Federal Government such as the Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Documents, the United States Code and the Federal Register

The White House
Information about the current presidential administration

Public Papers of the Presidents
Public papers of the presidents including presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature are available in print in Belk Library beginning with the Hoover Administration.  They are available online begining with the Administration of George H W Bush. 

Presidential Documents Guide
A guide from the National Archives containing information about the different types of Presidential documents available to the public and where these documents may be found

Compilation of Presidential Documents
Daily and weekly compilations of presidential documents including proclamations, executive orders, speeches, press conferences, and other types of documents

Federal Register
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations including proclamations, executive orders and other presidential documents.  Govpulse is a searchable and interactive version of the Federal Register.

POTUS
POTUS (President of the United States) includes background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and other information about each of the presidents.

The American Presidency
An archive of over 100,000 American Presidential documents including public papers, executive orders, proclamations, addresses, and press conferences

 

Judicial Information

Judicial Branch Information from USA.gov
Links and information about the Judicial Branch of the federal government

Lexis Nexis Academic
A database available through Belk Library with information about federal and state court cases.  Use the "Look up a Legal Case" search box.

Hein Online Law Library
Law review journals including the United Nations Law Collection and United States Code.

FDSys
FDSys is the official database of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides online access to publications from all three branches of the Federal Government such as the Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Documents, the United States Code and the Federal Register

Supreme Court
Information about the supreme court's calendar, decisions, and court documents

United States Courts
Information from the United States Courts inculding information about the Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, District Courts, and the Bankruptcy Courts

Elon University Shool of Law
This page maintained by the Elon Univserity School of Law Library includes helpful information about legal research

How a Bill Becomes a Law
A flow chart with definitions of how a bill becomes a law provided by Lexis Nexis

Library Staff

Profile Image
Jennifer Smith
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Phone: 336-278-6586
Office: Belk Library Room 213
Send Email
 

Federal Depository Library Program Logo

Federal Despoistory Library Program Logo

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip