Search for information
Search Belk Library's online system to find both library materials and articles in our databases. Use the search box below to do a basic search on library materials and databases.
Find Articles in English and Spanish
All of these databases let you search in English, but allow you to limit your results to just Spanish articles.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndex to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, 1963-present.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowLiterature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. 1963-
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study.
- Databases listed by subjectI can't list all of them! But if your topic doesn't seem covered by the databases listed above, click here to find more possibilities.
Find Articles in Spanish
These databases are just in Spanish. Remember to use Spanish search terms! So not "education" but "educacion".
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
A note about keywords
Finding the right keywords is one of the most challenging parts of the research process. Even for librarians!
For this assignment, there may not be a lot of Spanish (or English!) scholarly sources written directly about your topic. So to find an appropriate peer-reviewed and/or Spanish source, you might have to broaden your search.
Here are some examples of topics about which you might find scholarly sources in Spanish:
- Background research - do you need more historical or sociological context?
- Research about the author - there may not be a peer-reviewed source about the story you read, but are there articles about other works by the author? Usually an author will deal with a theme in more than story.
- Genre research - how does your cultural product fit in with others? How do other authors portray the violence in Peru in the 1980s?
More tips:
- Try the searches in multiple places. Even though the databases are all "Ebsco," they have different articles in them.
- Try English and Spanish keywords. Sometimes it's called "Shining Path" and sometimes "Sendero Luminoso."
- If the library's database doesn't have the full text, try searching the title IN QUOTES in Google. Sometimes articles are posted other places.