Archives & Special Collections

Collection Rationale
We actively collect primary and secondary source materials in the following areas: Elon University history & culture, the Service-Learning movement, and the surrounding communities. Materials are collected under the authority of Archives & Special Collections staff, the Dean and University Librarian, and/or designated University personnel.  The relevancy of the content as it relates to the Collection Development Policy, the condition of the materials, and potential restrictions on access will be considered and evaluated before acceptance.  All materials accepted will be arranged, described, and made available according to current archival standards and practices.

Collection Methods
Materials are acquired primary through donations and non-cash gifts.  In rare instances materials will be purchased. The Archives and Special Collections staff and/or designated University personnel will formalize the transfer of property and copyright through the completion of a Deed of Gift form. 

Collecting Priorities and Categories

• Institutional records generated by Elon University employees or students of permanent historical value.  
• Personal papers of individuals associated with Elon University, the local region, or the Service-Learning movement.
• Church History materials: Christian Church, Congregational Church, Congregational Christian Church, Evangelical and Reformed Churches, and the United Church of Christ.
• Book Collections: Elon Authors, Johnson Signed Book Collection, Jane Belk Moncure Children's Book Collection, Hubert McLendon Civil War Collection, Williams-Honeycutt Rare Books Collection, William Sloan Bible Collection, Pulpit Bible Collection, and the Miscellaneous Bible Collection.

Non-Cash Gifts & Donations Acceptance Policy

• The Deed of Gift will contain all legal information surrounding the ownership, copyright, and disposition of all donated gifts. 
• We will determine the preservation level needed and circulation policies of accepted gift. 
• The Archives and Special Collections Department cannot appraise materials. The acceptance of a gift appraised by a third party does not in any way imply an endorsement by the Archives and Special Collections.  Donors are encouraged to seek professional tax advice if the estimate of the gift's value exceeds $500.00.
• The Archives and Special Collections does not accept periodicals and/or textbooks. 

Donating Materials
​The Archives & Special Collections Department accepts donations and non-cash gifts that fit within the Collection Development Policy and the University’s curriculum. If there are materials you wish to donate or would like further information please email the University Archivist or call 336-278-6681.