Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections

Quick tips for conducting archival research and our policies and procedures.

Searching Tips

Our materials can be searched and located in numerous ways. For assistance please contact us at belkarchives@elon.edu. Here are some tips for finding primary and secondary sources in Archives & Special Collections:

  • You can use the Library Catalog to find books, videos, newspapers, and manuscript/archival collections.  Helpful Tip: Limit the search to "Belk Archives" in the location box. 
     
  • Search our collection guides in ArchiveGrid. This database includes archival collections from all over the world and is keyword searchable across collection guides.  Helpful Tip: To locate only Elon related materials use the word Elon as one of your search terms.
     
  • Our digital collections can be keyword searched through our Digital Collections portal, the Digital Public Library of AmericaDigitalNC.org, as well as archive,orgHelpful tip: Check out all tools to explore our digital content. 

Policies & Proceedures

Reading Room Guidelines

  1. All materials must be used in the reading room and handled with care.  
  2. Please use only pencils, laptops, and/or digital cameras.
  3. No food or drink.
  4. Please keep materials in the order in which they are found.
  5. Permission to photocopy is required, scanning is done by staff only. 

Copyright & Reproductions

Researchers assume full responsibility for conforming to copyright, laws of libel, and property rights when quoting or publishing materials. Contact archives staff for publication guidelines and application when interested in reproducing or publishing content from the Archives & Special Collections. 

Privacy & Use Policy

The University Archives has both public and private records. Depending on the researcher’s request, access to private records may be limited. Requests to view private materials will require permission from the creator of the records.  On rare occasion patron registration and usage information may be shared with other campus offices when neccesary. 

Additional Resources