Skip to main content

COR 110 US and Germany Research Guide

Der Sozialstaat

Photo by Gina Sanders

Glossary

The Sozialstaat, or welfare state, in Germany includes many types of programs.  Here are a few of the major ones:

  • Krankenversicherung - health insurance
  • Arbeitslosengeld (ALG) - unemployment insurance
  • Arbeitslosenhilfe (ALH) - unemployment assistance
  • Sozialhilfe (SH) - welfare payments
  • Alterssicherung - old age pension/insurance
  • Pflegerversicherung - long term care insurance
  • Kindergeld, Kinderzuschlag - child payment
  • Betreuungsgeld - child care subsidy

Websites

You can search any newspaper or news website for immigration stories.  Some media organizations put together topic pages that bring together all the news and commentary in one place.  Here are a few:

Library Databases

PAIS International -- An database full of articles about global public policy and social issues.  Search your topic "and United States".  To find the full-text of an article, click on the JournalFinder icon.

SocINDEX -- A full-text sociology database.  A good source for articles about health care, immigration, education, and other issues involving people and society.  Search your topic "and United States." 

Sociological Abstracts -- Another sociology database that indexes different journals.

ERIC -- THE education database.  Contains articles about educational policy as well as historical and pedagological studies.

CQ Global Researcher -- Full-text reports of current issues.  Check out the report on social welfare in Europe or type keywords into the search box.  Reports include background, chronologies, maps, graphs, and pro/con sections.

Data

The Federal Statistical Office (Destatis) -- Has a section devoted to Social Statistics.  Search "social welfare" in the search box at the top to find more information, including press releases.

OECD Social and Welfare section -- The OECD collects and analyses data and makes recommendations to improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.  Compares Germany to other nations in terms of social security spending.  Also look at the Germany page.