News, Articles and Data
This page contains places to look for more information about Germany,its politics,and its
people.
Search Belk Catalog
Online Encyclopedias
- Germany.infoA website run by the German embassy, full of news and information about Germany. Try the quick links at the left.
- Facts about GermanyAn online reference book provided by the German government. In addition to politics, it covers culture, society, foreign policy, and the economy.
- CIA World Factbook - GermanyAn online encyclopedia put together by the CIA for 267 countries. Information includes history, people, economy, and government.
Library Databases
- SocINDEX w/Full Text This link opens in a new windowA full-text sociology database. A good source for articles about health care, immigration, education, and other issues involving people and society. Search your topic "and Germany."
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowTHE education database. Contains articles about educational policy as well as historical and pedagological studies.
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowA really cool database full of consumer statistics and profiles for many of the world's countries. There are a lot of relevant topics under the "Countries and Consumers" tab. Select one, then select Germany under "Country Profiles" on the left.
Data
The Federal Statistical Office (Destatis) -- This is the site for the agency devoted to collecting statistics in Germany. Check out the links under "Facts and Figures" as well as the longer documents under "Publications."
OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) -- The OECD collects and analyses data and makes recommendations to improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world. For comparative data, i.e., how Germany compares to the rest of the world in key areas, click on the "More Statistics on Germany" link.
United Nations Statistics Division -- The UN collects statistics for every nation, with particular focus on health, gender, and economic development indicators. Put "Germany" in the data search box at the top right and click "go".
Eurydice -- The European Union encyclopedia of national education systems. Includes information on the structure of education in Germany as well as reports about specific educational issues such as the integration of immigrant children.
NCES -- The National Center for Education Statistics in the U.S. also publishes comparative reports with other nations. Includes access to the PISA data (Programme for International Student Assessment, conducted by the OECD.)
Newspaper Websites
Der Spiegel -- a premier news magazine in Germany. The international version is available in English.
Deutsche Welle -- an international broadcaster whose mission is to represent Germany's news and points of view.
The New York Times -- This link compiles all the articles that the website publishes about Germany. Remember you can only read 10 articles a month for free.
Onlinenewspapers.com -- A great list of newspaper websites from all around Germany. A good source for regional news.
Foreign Newspapers Online -- Another list of German newspapers available online, put together by a book publisher.