Skip to main content

Chemistry Research Guide


Randall Bowman's picture
Randall Bowman
Archives and Special Collections Department Belk Library Elon University

    Quick Links

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Kanopy streaming video

Kanopy is a database of more than 30,000 streaming videos, including classic, independent, and documentary films. This database includes a diverse collection of films in a variety of subjects, which are listed here:

Features include:

  • Watch films on your devices, such as phones, tablets, and smart TVs with an Elon login, as well as linked in a Moodle site.
  • Create a (free) Kanopy account
  • Add films to a Watchlist
  • The films also come with public performance rights, meaning that they can legally be shown at campus-wide advertised events.

The Chronicle of Higher Education

Chronicle of Higher Education logo

Stay up to date with the events, people and issues in higher education with The Chronicle of Higher Education.

Belk Library's online subscription lets you:

  1. Read the current issue, including premium content
  2. Read individual issues for the previous six months --- go to
  3. Search The Chronicle’s archives back to 1989 --- enter search terms in the “Search The Chronicle” search box at the top of each page

You can also receive daily or weekly emails on different topics:

  1. Learn more at
  2. Create the required free account using your Elon email address

Here’s how to get started:

  1. On campus, go directly to
  2. Off campus, log in to your Chronicle account at to view all content
  3. If you don't have a Chronicle account, log in to your email to establish your Elon online credentials and then go to

If you have any questions, ask us!

New York Times Digital Access

Elon provides digital access to the New York Times to all Elon students, staff, and faculty. 

It's easy to sign up:

Reauthenticate your NYT Digital Access

You must reauthenticate your digital access each year.


PressReader logo

  • Read 6000+ newspapers and magazines from around the world with PressReader 
  • Search and translate content, as well as download issues for offline reading 
  • Create a personal account (use your email address) to set up automatic delivery or topic alerts

Here’s how to get started:

  1. On campus, go directly to
  2. Off campus, go to and select PressReader (or use this link)
  3. Download the app to read on your mobile device
  4. Use your email address when creating a personal account to customize your reading experience

To find international publications:

  • On the website, click on the "hamburger" menu (three vertical bars on the top left) and find "Publications"
  • On the mobile app, go to "Publications" 

If you have any questions, ask us!