Physical Therapy Research Guide

PT journals and other publications available through your APTA membership. The "New Professionals" link may prove helpful.

Resources available through your APTA membership.

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 42,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

A comprehensive list of completed and ongoing clinical trials, developed for consumers. Use filters to find trials that are recruiting, and use the map tab to find trials near home.

Find clinical studies, systematic reviews and medical genetics for various research areas.

A directory of extensive topics, including search strategies.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

A search engine for primary care providers to answer clinical questions at the point-of-care. Developed for healthcare providers without access to subscription databases. Searches free, reliable clinical resources for drug info, PubMed Central free full-text and patient education materials..

Consumer health info in English and Spanish from NLM. Over 1000 health topics, medications and supplements.

Consumer health information in various languages and formats (written and audio). Special collections on Emergency & Disaster, Women's Health, Refugee Health. Includes A-Z topic index.

Consumer information about genetic health conditions.

Provides information on over 80,000 drugs from clinical trials to the marketplace.

Provides up to date drug label information. Search by drug name, class, or NDC code.

Helps user ID unknown pills based on physical description and provides drug related info. Useful in senior care facilities.

Lab Tests Online is an award-winning health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care. The site is produced by AACC, a not-for-profit organization; proceeds from health-related advertising help support the website's mission.

Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.

Research-based info from acupuncture to zinc.

Elon is able to license alumni access to some of our databases. Click in here, then click on Alumni Resources, for information about these databases and how to log-in.

Check out these great Zotero videos. Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.