LibGuides: PA: Physician Assistant Studies: Journal Articles, EBP & Clinical Tools

Off-Campus Access

All resources are available from off-campus! Click on the link for AccessMedicine, or for any database, and you'll be prompted to enter your Elon username/password. Once you've logged in, you're recognized as Elon and can access all of our electronic library resources.

Start Here: Journal Articles

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Over 500 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 11 million articles from Medline and other life science journals are indexed here. Links into full-text from Belk Library journal subscriptions will be live if you're logged into Elon before searching in PubMed.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is the free U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Full text access to more than 4.5 million articles.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Scholarly peer reviewed physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social science and humanities journals.

PLOS
A collection of open access, peer-reviewed biology and medical journals. PLoS is a non-profit organization founded in 2000 with the goal of making scientific and medical literature freely accessible.
Google Scholar
An index to most scholarly publishing, with links to Belk Library full-text journals. See instructions on the Google Scholar page for access from off-campus.

More Medicine and Science Journals

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
A database offering scholarly review articles.
CINAHLPlus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers allied health disciplines, nursing, and medicine.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is an independent, diverse, global organization that collaborates to produce trusted synthesized evidence, make it accessible to all, and advocate for its use. Our work is internationally recognized as the benchmark for high-quality information about the effectiveness of health care.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Academic journals covering clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, and health administration.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines is the most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text of journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An index to journals in psychology and related disciplines, 1887 - current.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Index of international citations on all aspects of exercise physiology, physical education, physical fitness, sports, sports industry, and sports medicine published since 1949.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes tens of thousands of scholarly journals across all disciplines, as well as conference proceedings, monographs, and more. Pulls data from several different databases, but is traditionally strong in the sciences. Coverage (in Science Citation Index Expanded) starts in 1900 and continues to present day. Previously known as Web of Knowledge.

Human Kinetics Journals
The information leader in physical activity and health.
Mary Ann Liebert Journals
A journal collection with strong medical content.

Evidence-based Practice Resources & Clinical Guidelines

Up-To-Date
UpToDate® is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 5,100 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Supported by UpToDate's 46 in-house physician editors, these authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence.

NOTE: Funding for the National Guideline Clearinghouse was discontinued and the it is no longer available. While we do not have a perfect single alternative, some helpful options for identifying clinical guidelines include:

P.I.C.O. Resources
This guide is designed to assist health care professionals and students become effective and efficient users of the medical literature. See helpful tabs for 'Levels of Evidence', PICO, 'Clinical Search Filters', and 'Searching PubMed'.
TRIP
A clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Click on 'PICO Search' to fill in the helpful PICO form.
PEDro
Physiotherapy Evidence Database is a free database of over 21,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Guidelines International Network (G-I-N)
G-I-N is a library of clinical guidelines created and maintained by an international network of health agencies and organizations.

ACCESS MEDICINE

AccessMedicine
Continually updated medical content, textbooks, Harrison's online, and much more. If using off-campus, an Elon log-in box will appear when you click in.

Major Medical Journals

Access to current content and backfiles:

Journal Finder

Use Journal Finder to locate a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper.

Interlibrary Loan - Request a Journal Article

Request a Journal Article
Fill out this online form and click 'Submit' at the bottom. Journal articles you need will arrive in your email inbox. It''s free!