Find country information
- World FactbookCountry information compiled by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
- CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for the country's name and the word country to retrieve country profile information.
- BBC NewsUse the search feature to link to news stories about a country. Includes a profile for the country.
Begin with these general databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly full-text journals and peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of subjects. 1975 to present.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowIs a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Includes books and journals.
- Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowGeneral reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
Some other databases to check
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Coverage includes history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, humanities and social sciences. Some current issues are available now.
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new windowThe collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals. Country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.. 1971-present
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts the world's scholarly literature in the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent news pertaining to all branches of the military, trade publications, and news weeklies.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowPassport contains data on more that 190 countries. Find data on consumer market sizes, consumer expenditures, population characteristics, national characteristics, and more. Often includes forecast as well as historical data.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and index of international political science journals.
